posted March 18, 1998

John Patnott Honored National Coach of the Year

For the third time in his career, Hope College coach John
Patnott has been honored by his peers as a national coach of the year.
The College Swimming Coaches Association has named Patnott and Denison
University coach Gregg Parini as the 1998 NCAA Division III national women's
coaches of the year.
Patnott's Flying Dutch finished fifth at the NCAA Division III women's
swimming and diving championships in St. Louis, Mo. Iast weekend. With a
contingent comprised mostly of freshmen and sophomores, each of Hope's seven
qualifiers returned an NCAA All-American. Denizen finished second at the national
In 1994 Patnott was honored as the national women's coach-of-the-year. He
also achieved that distinction as the national men's coach of the year in 1991.
Patnott started the Hope College swimming program in 1978 and has developed
it into one of the nation's finest small college programs for men and women.
Hope's teams are annually competitive on the conference and national level. He
has coached Hope teams to 22 Michigan Intercolegiate Athletic Association (MIAA)
championships -- 15 by the women and seven by the men. He has coached 81
All-Americans and had national champions 21 times during his 18-year career. He
has also had 27 Academic All-Americans since 1984.