posted May 18, 1998

Five Departments Hold NSF-REU Grants For Summer Student Research

Five science departments at Hope College hold grants for summer student research from the National Science Foundation's "Research Experiences for Undergraduates" (NSF-REU) program.

          The departments of biology, chemistry, computer
  science, mathematics and physics all hold NSF-REU grants.
  It is the seventh consecutive year that at least four Hope
  departments have done so.
          Through the grants, undergraduate students from
  both Hope and elsewhere are conducting research on a full-
  time basis with Hope faculty members for 10 to 11 weeks this
  summer, and are receiving stipends as well as support for
  summer housing, travel and other expenses.  They are with
  students whose summer research at Hope is supported in other
          The department of biology's grant is supporting 11
  students working with nine faculty members for 10 weeks.
  Some of the department's projects include calcium and water
  regulation in animals, use of fruits by birds for medicinal
  purposes and control of swimmer's itch.  The five-year,
  $250,000 grant is being administered by Dr. David Netzly,
  associate professor of biology.
          The department of chemistry's grant is supporting
  eight students working with 11 faculty for up to 10 weeks.
  The 10 projects include PIXE (Particle-Induced X-ray
  Emission) analysis of environmental samples, synthesis of
  Poly propellanes and studies of atmospheric compounds.  The
  three-year, $114,900 grant is being administered by Dr.
  Stephen Taylor, professor of chemistry, and Dr. William S.
  Mungall, who is the Elmer E. Hartgerink Professor of
          The department of computer science's grant is
  supporting eight students working with four faculty for 10
  weeks.  The six projects include "Algorithm and Code
  Animations on the Web," "Concurrency Anomaly Prevention
  using POSIX Threads," "Exploring Dynamic Web Page
  Implementations," "Visualization of Function Calls and
  Execution," "Linking Program Implementations to Original
  Specifications" and "Java Interactive Environment."  The
  three-year, $146,700 grant is being administered by Dr.
  Herbert Dershem, professor of computer science and chair of
  the department.
          The department of mathematics's grant is
  supporting six students working with three faculty members
  for eight weeks.  The projects are in "non-commutative
  geometries," "computations in semi-group rings" and
  "automatic geometric theorem proving with associated algebra
  varieties."  The $30,000 grant for 1998 is being
  administered by Dr. Tim Pennings, associate professor of
  mathematics and chair of the department.
          The department of physics's grant is supporting 10
  students working with eight faculty for 10 weeks.  The seven
  projects include "Nuclear Reaction Studies," "Relativistic
  Effects in Pulsars," "Modeling Nuclei Under Extreme
  Conditions," "Biomechanical Analysis of Human Movement" and
  "Numerical Modeling of Fracture."  The three-year, $120,000
  grant is being administered by Dr. Paul DeYoung, professor
  of physics and chair of the department.