posted May 13, 1999

Hope Leads MIAA in All-Sports

 Hope College has swept all three of the awards
presented by the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association
(MIAA) for the best cumulative performance in men's and women's
sports during the 1998-99 academic year.
     For the first time, the MIAA is presenting separate awards
for the best cumulative finish in men's and women's sports, as
well as an award for the best cumulative finish in all league
sports (men and women).
     The new awards are known as the Men's All-Sports Award and
the Women's All-Sports Award while the cumulative award is now
known as the Commissioner's Cup.  The final standings for the
all-sports awards were determined on the basis of each college's
standings in eight of nine sports for men and eight of nine
sports for women.
     In the Commissioner's Cup standings, Hope finished with 213
points, followed by Calvin with 192, Albion 151, Alma and
Kalamazoo 137 each, Olivet 90, Adrian 70, and Defiance 64.
     Hope posted 95 points in the men's all-sports standings
followed by Calvin with 83, Albion 71, Alma 68, Kalamazoo 64,
Olivet 45, Adrian 36 and Defiance 27.  In the women's all-sports
standings Hope ended with 118 points followed by Calvin with 109,
Albion 80, Kalamazoo 73, Alma 69, Saint Mary's 64, Olivet 45,
Defiance 37 and Adrian 34.
     During the year Hope captured MIAA championships in women's
golf, women's swimming, women's tennis and volleyball and were
co-champions in men's basketball and baseball.
     Teams finishing second in their respective sport were men's
and women's cross
country, men's golf, football, softball, men's swimming, men's
tennis and women's track.  Hope was third in women's basketball,
men's track and women's soccer and ended sixth in men's soccer.
     Also the defending MIAA All-Sports champion, Hope has won
the award three consecutive years and six times in the decade of
the 1990s.
     The MIAA All-Sports Award (now the Commissioner's Cup) has
been presented since 1934-35.  Hope has won the All-Sports award
a league-leading 22 times.  Next is Albion with 14, followed by
Kalamazoo 13, Calvin 7 and Alma 5.