posted February 15, 2000

MIAA Honors Hope Swimmers/Divers

Coaches' All-MIAA honors have been announced in swimming and diving

Senior Erin Van Auken of Holland, Mich. (West Ottawa HS) has been voted the most valuable female swimmer. Van Auken was a triple winner in the league championship meet last weekend capturing the 50, 100 and 200 yard freestyle events.

Sophomore Josh Boss of Jenison, Mich. (Jenison HS) is the co-most valuable male swimmer/diver sharing the honor with Kalamazoo College senior diver Jeff Gorton. Boss set MIAA records in winning the 100 and 200 yard breaststroke events. He is the defending NCAA national champion in the events.

The MIAA champion Flying Dutch placed seven swimmers/divers on the all-league team. Van Auken and senior teammate Llena Durante of Chicago (Whitney Young HS) were named All-MIAA a fourth consecutive year. Also honored were freshman Sara Gray of Grand Rapids, Mich. (Union HS), senior Kari Jackson of Canton, Mich. (Plymouth-Canton HS), sophomore Laura Smith of Dearborn, Mich. (Dearborn HS), junior Betsy VandenBerg and freshman Erin VandenBerg, both from Beverly Hills, Mich. (Southfield Christian HS).
Click for All-MIAA women's team

Five members of the men's team were voted All-MIAA. They include sophomore Josh Boss, junior Chris Dattels of Wiltmette, Ill. (New Trier HS), freshman Chris Roecker of Battle Creek, Mich. (Lakeview HS), freshman Brian Slagh of Holland, Mich. (Zeeland HS), and junior Scott Vroeindewey of Kalamazoo (Portage Central HS)
Click for All-MIAA men's team