posted March 29, 2000

Yearbook Earns Honors

The 1999 edition of the "Milestone" yearbook at Hope College has earned several awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association, including the CSPA's top honor for yearbooks.

          The "Milestone" was one of only four yearbooks to
  receive a "2000 Gold Crown Award" from the CSPA.  Hope students
  were also recognized in five categories in the association's
  "2000 College Gold Circle Awards" competition for their work
  in the book.
          The awards were presented on Thursday, March 16,
  during the CSPA's 22nd Annual College Media Convention in
  New York City.  The association presented awards in a
  variety of categories to college and university newspapers,
  magazines and yearbooks as well as to individuals and teams
  of students.
          A total of 361 newspapers, 214 magazines and 500
  yearbooks entered the 2000 Crown Awards Program,
  representing editions published during the 1998-99 academic
  year.  The competition presented nine "Gold Crown Awards"
  and 11 "Silver Crown Awards."
          Other than the "Milestone," the yearbook Gold
  Crown recipients were all from large universities:  The
  "Arbutus" of Indiana University at Bloomington; the
  "Bluestone" of James Madison University in Harrisonburg,
  Va.; and "La Ventana" of Texas Tech University at Lubbock.
          The "Gold Circle Awards" competition featured 77
  categories to recognize individual excellence by student
  journalists working on newspapers, magazines and yearbooks,
  and presented first-, second- and third-place awards as well
  as "Certificates of Merit."  Including submissions from
  senior high schools for the CSPA's competition for junior
  and senior high schools, there were 9,793 entries.
          Hope students earned second-place honors three
  times and two Certificates of Merit for their work on the
          Two 1999 graduates, Christy Colbrunn of Clarkston
  and Nikelle E. Johnson of Hudsonville, earned second place
  honors in the "Opening and Closing Spread Design" category
  for their treatment of the yearbook's theme, "Over Time."
  In addition, Colbrunn, Johnson and 1999 graduate Amanda G.
  Black of Hudsonville earned a Certificate of Merit for
  "Theme Selection and Development" in the "Theme and Cover"
          Colbrunn, Johnson and junior Emily Gisleson of
  Shortsville, N.Y., earned second place in the "Student Life
  Spread" category for "Over the River," the yearbook's
  coverage of the freshman-sophomore Pull tug-of-war.  Johnson
  and sophomore Kristin Lamers of Hudsonville earned second
  place in the "Sports Spread" category for "Stepping Up to
  Bat," the yearbook's feature on the men's baseball team.
          Sophomore Andrew Kleczek of Elkhart, Ind., earned
  a Certificate of Merit in "Sports Writing" for "Early
  Peaks," which discussed the award-winning women's swim team.
          Black and Johnson were the 1999 yearbook's co-
  editors-in-chief.  Lamers, who was "Student Life Editor"
  last year, is co-editor-in-chief this year with senior Beth
  Bailey of Okemos.
          The 1999 "Milestone" was published by Walsworth
  Publishing Company of Marceline, Mo.  A former "Milestone"
  editor, 1998 graduate Anthony Perez of Cedar Springs, is now
  a publishing representative with the company, and worked
  with the Hope yearbook staff.
          The college's yearbook debuted in 1905 as the
  "Hope College Annual."  The next edition was published in
  1916 as "The Milestone," the name it has possessed ever
          CSPA is an international student press association
  uniting student journalists and faculty advisors at schools
  and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges
  and award programs.  Owned and operated by Columbia
  University since 1925, the association now enrolls 2,000
  members throughout North America and in certain overseas
  schools and colleges following the American plan.  Its three
  major services include annual competitions and awards for
  members; planning three conventions and a week-long summer
  workshop at Columbia; and small press publishing activities
  to support a quarterly magazine and one to two books per