posted April 10, 2000

Phi Beta Kappa Honorees

Fifty-four of Hope College'sgraduating seniors and recent graduates have been elected to the Zeta of Michigan chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest scholastic honorary society.

For more than 200 years, election to Phi Beta Kappa has been a recognition of intellectual capacity well-employed, especially in acquiring an education in the liberal arts and sciences.  The objectives of learning encouraged by Phi Beta Kappa include intellectual honesty and tolerance, range of intellectual interests and understanding, not merely knowledge.
Hope faculty who are members of Phi Beta Kappa have elected students in recognition of their high grade point average in liberal arts courses, their exceptional scholarly ability, and their independent and creative scholarly activities.
Hope College is one of only 255 colleges and universities in the country, and one of eight in Michigan, to have a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa.  Hope's chapter was chartered in 1971.
Meridith Jane Akins; Gaithersburg, Md.
Ramona Margareta Angelescu; Bucharest, Romania
Ryan Cardiff Atwell; Muscatine, Iowa
Michelle Elise Barnett; Alpena
Katherine Mary Berghorst; Zeeland
Sara Elizabeth Bishop; DeWitt
Judy K. Boogaart; Holland
Michael J. Brinks; Portage
Christopher David Cappa; Naperville, Ill.
Miguel Angel Cruz III; Shelby Township
Kristy Lee Dalrymple; Plainwell
Jennifer Anne Ernst; Westerville, Ohio
Joslin Elizabeth Feinaur; Royal Oak
Eric Robert Goodman; Okemos
Janette Margaret Griebe; East Lansing
Carolynn J. Haase; Fort Wayne, Ind.
Shana Henry; Southfield
Katie Maree Horsman; Battle Creek
Angella Paulette Huddleston; Romeoville, Ill.
Cathleen Marie Jaworowski; Grand Rapids
Shari Louise Johnson; New Hope, Minn.
Kelly Lynn Joos; Okemos
Christopher Patrick Kerrins; Lansing
Jennifer Beth Kossoris; Jenison
Michelle Ann Kramer; Naperville, Ill.
Rachel Ann Lamb; Brookfield, Wis.
Rochelle Renai Marker; Lansing
Sarah Elizabeth Martin; Midland
Angela Leigh Mayer; Holland
Amy Jo Moldenhauer; Walled Lake
Jack Edward Mulder Jr.; Kentwood
Caroline J. Newell; Reed City
Elizabeth Anne Ornee; Zeeland
Erica Ann Puntel; Centerville
Matthew Ryan Reynolds; East Lansing
Amy E. Rife; Holland
Erin Joy Rodenhouse; Holland
Kathryn Elizabeth Schmidt; Fort Wayne, Ind.
Erin Ruth Selmer; Deymoure, Wisc.
Mark Anthony Slabaugh; Homer, Ark.
Kevin John Sonnemann; Traverse City
Kayrl Anna Stead; Dearborn
Braden Thomas Stradley; Holland
Janelle Aimee Thompson; Port Sanilac
Christine Joy Trinh; Zeeland
Annalise Lyn Van Wyngarden; Caledonia
Kelly Lynn VanderLaan; Holland
Paul Andrew VanderLaan; Holland
Stacey Lynn VanderMolen; Grand Rapids
Elissa Marie Wickmann; Holland
Jennifer Lyn Yonker; Orland Park, Ill.
Lawrence L. Young III; Cedar Springs
Ann Elizabeth Zeneberg; Roscommon
Rebecca Joy Zwart; Wyoming