posted April 27, 2000

Convocation, Scholar-Athletes

 Awards as the outstanding senior athletes among
Hope College graduates in the class of 2000 were presented to two
students during the college's Honor Convocation on Thursday
(April 27).
     Erinn Van Auken of Holland was presented the John Schouten
Award while Tom Bouwens of Zeeland High School is the recipient
of the Otto van der Velde All-Campus Award.
     The Schouten award is given to a senior woman who, in
addition to excelling in athletics, possess other strong
character traits and leadership abilities.  The award is named in
memory of John "Jack" Schouten who was a long-time physical
educator and coach at Hope, in addition to serving as the
college's first director of athletics.
     The van der Velde award is presented to a senior man for
outstanding contribution to the college in athletics, scholarship
and participation in student activities.  The award, presented
annually since 1932, is named in memory of Dr. Otto van der
Velde, a 1915 Hope College graduate who lettered in four sports
and was later team physician for more than 40 years.
     A special education major with an emphasis in learning
disabilities, Van Auken became the most decorated female NCAA
swimming All-American in Hope history. This season she was - more -
voted the most valuable female swimmer in the Michigan
Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA).  At this year's NCAA
Division III nationals she was an All-American five times and
finished her career an All-American a school-record 24 times.  A
1996 graduate of West Ottawa High School, she is the daughter of
Mr. and Mrs. William (Janice) Van Auken of Holland.
     A chemistry major, Bouwens was also a four-year letterwinner
in swimming and was captain of this year's team.  A specialist in
the butterfly, he was a member of Hope's NCAA All-American medley
relay teams as both a junior and senior.  A 1996 graduate of
Zeeland High School, he is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Joel
(Marianne) Bouwens of Zeeland.
     Both have been honored for academic achievement by the
College Swimming Coaches Association of America and the Michigan
Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA).