posted January 8, 2001

Faculty Recognition Luncheon

Hope College honored faculty members
for service, academic achievement and professional
involvement during the college's annual recognition luncheon
on Monday, Jan. 8.

The luncheon traditionally marks the beginning of
the college's second semester. Participating were James E.
Bultman, president; Jacob E. Nyenhuis, provost; Alfredo M.
Gonzales, assistant provost; Jon J. Huisken, dean for
academic services and registrar; Nancy S. Miller, dean for
the social sciences; and William D. Reynolds, dean for the
arts and humanities. Remarks were also presented by Dr.
Orlando L. Taylor, who is dean of the Graduate School of
Arts and Sciences at Howard University.


John Van Iwaarden of the mathematics faculty was
recognized for 40 years of service, and James M. Zoetewey of
the political science faculty was honored for 35 years of
service. Faculty honored for 30 years of service were:
William Cohen (history), William S. Mungall (chemistry),
William D. Reynolds (English, and dean for the arts and
humanities) and Jack R. Ridl (English).


Recognized for 25 years of service were: Harvey
D. Blankespoor (biology), Susan M. Cherup (education), James
M. Gentile (biology, and dean for the natural sciences),
Anne E. Irwin (kinesiology) and Peter L. Jolivette
(physics). Faculty honored for 20 years of service were:
James B. Heisler (economics), William H. Japinga (business
administration) and Neal W. Sobania (history, and director
of international education).


William Cohen (history) received this year's
Provost's Award for Excellence in Teaching. Julie Costello
(English) was named a Towsley Research Scholar at Hope. In
addition, Maxine DeBruyn (dance) received the first annual
Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Award.


Faculty honored for serving on the college's
Teaching Enhancement Workshop Committee were: James B.
Heisler, chair (economics and business administration),
Hersilia Alvarez-Ruf (modern and classical languages),
Donald L. Cronkite (biology), Jane Dickie (psychology), John
Krupczak Jr. (engineering), Barbara Mezeske (English),
William S. Mungall (chemistry), Maura M. Reynolds (modern
and classical languages, and director of advising) and John
A. Yelding (education).


Graham F. Peaslee (chemistry, and geological and
environmental sciences) was recognized for having received
the Hope Outstanding Professor Educator (H.O.P.E.) Award in
the spring of 2000.


Acknowledged as authors and editors during the
past year were: Ion Agheana (modern and classical
languages), Janet L. Andersen (mathematics), Albert A. Bell
Jr. (history), Barry L. Bandstra (religion), Steven C.
Bouma-Prediger (religion), Rodney F. Boyer (chemistry,
emeritus), Donald L. Cronkite (biology), John D. Cox
(English), Francis G. Fike (English, emeritus), James A.
Herrick (communication), Lynn M. Japinga (religion), David
J. Klooster (English), Anne R. Larsen (modern and classical
languages), Thomas E. Ludwig (psychology), David G. Myers
(psychology), R. Richard Ray Jr. (kinesiology), David K.
Ryden (political science), John J. Shaughnessy (psychology),
Todd Swanson (mathematics), Robert P. Swierenga (A.C. Van
Raalte Institute), Elliot A. Tanis (mathematics, emeritus)
and Larry J. Wagenaar (Joint Archives of Holland).


Members of the faculty honored for accomplishments
as performing artists were Charles Aschbrenner (music), Joan
Conway (music), Brian Coyle (music), Mihai Craioveanu
(music), Steven Iannacone (dance) and Richard Piippo
(music). Members of the art faculty recognized for their
work as artists were Bruce McCombs and Steve Nelson.
Honored as coaches were Maureen Dunn (volleyball), Bob Ebels
(men's golf), Dean Kreps (football), Brian Morehouse
(women's basketball), Karen Page (women's tennis) and John
Patnott (women's swimming).


Faculty honored for serving as officers of
professional organizations included: Maxine DeBruyn
(dance), Miguel De La Torre (religion), James M. Gentile
(biology, and dean for the natural sciences), James A.
Herrick (communication), Richard Piippo (music), William F.
Polik (chemistry), Caroline J. Simon (philosophy), J.
Jeffery Tyler (religion) and Larry J. Wagenaar (Joint
Archives of Holland).


Recognized for receiving honors and awards were:
Susan Atefat Peckham (English), Nicole Bennett (chemistry),
Donald L. Cronkite (biology), Paul A. DeYoung (physics),
Matthew Elrod (chemistry), James M. Gentile (biology, and
dean for the natural sciences), Linda Graham (dance), Tamara
Bloom George (nursing), Stephen I. Hemenway (English), Peter
L. Jolivette (physics), Virginia M. McDonough (biology),
Timothy J. Pennings (mathematics), William F. Polik
(chemistry) and Robert P. Swierenga (A.C. Van Raalte

Several faculty members were recognized as
recipients of grants and fellowships, including: Janet L.
Andersen (mathematics), Marc B. Baer (history), Jackie
Bartley (English), Nicole S. Bennett (chemistry), John D.
Cox (English), Miguel A. De La Torre (religion), Donatella
Delfino (mathematics), James M. Gentile (biology, and dean
for the natural sciences), Edward C. Hansen (geological and
environmental sciences), Steven Iannacone (dance), Lynn M.
Japinga (religion), David P. Jensen (Van Wylen Library),
Michael J. Jipping (computer science), James C. Kennedy
(history), Joseph F. La Porte (philosophy), K. Gregory
Murray (biology), Janice S. Pawloski (physics), Heather L.
Sellers (English), Caroline J. Simon (philosophy) and Allen
D. Verhey (religion).