posted February 28, 2001

All-MIAA Basketball Honors Announced

Eight Hope College basketball players have achieved all-conference honors in the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA), four each in the men's and women's programs.

Sophomore Amanda Kerkstra of Grandville, Mich. (Calvin Christian HS) has been voted the most valuable player in women's basketball. The Flying Dutch captured the MIAA championship with an undefeated record and have earned a berth in the NCAA Division III playoffs with a 25-2 record.

It is the second consecutive year that a Hope player has been named the MVP in MIAA women's basketball and the fourth in school history. Past recipients were Dian Disney (1990), Kristin Carlson (1995) and Lisa Hoekstra (2000)

Women's Basketball All-MIAA
The Flying Dutch placed two players on both the first and second All-MIAA teams. Amanda Kerkstra was achieved the distinction for the second consecutive year while junior Laura Poppema of Holland, Mich. (Holland HS) was honored for the first time. Senior Kristin Koenigsknecht of St. Johns, Mich. (St. Johns HS) and sophomore Amy Baltmanis of Paw Paw, Mich. (Paw Paw HS) were voted to the second team. Koenigsknecht received All-MIAA distinction four consecutive years receiving first team honors as a freshman and second team recognition as a sophomore, junior and now as a senior.

Men's Basketball All-MIAA
Senior Ryan Klingler of Holland, Mich. (Holland HS) for voted to the All-MIAA first team for a third consecutive year.

The Flying Dutchmen finished second in the MIAA standings and posted an overall 16-10 record to mark the 20th consecutive year that Hope has won 15 or more games in a season.

Three Hope players were voted to the All-MIAA second team -- sophomore Chad Carlson of Holland, Mich. (Holland HS), sophomore Don Overbeek of Wyoming (Grandville Calvin Christian HS), and senior Chad Zagar of Mattawan, Mich. (Mattawan HS).