posted April 2, 2002

Phi Beta Kappa Honorees

Fifty-eight of Hope College's graduating seniors and recent graduates have been elected to the Zeta of Michigan chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest scholastic honorary society.

For more than 200 years, election to Phi Beta Kappa has been a recognition of intellectual capacity well- employed, especially in acquiring an education in the liberal arts and sciences. The objectives of learning encouraged by Phi Beta Kappa include intellectual honesty and tolerance, range of intellectual interests and understanding, not merely knowledge.

Hope faculty who are members of Phi Beta Kappa have elected students in recognition of their high grade point average in liberal arts courses, their exceptional scholarly ability, and their independent and creative scholarly activities.

A formal initiation ceremony and reception will take place on Sunday, April 21, at 2 p.m. in the Maas Center auditorium. The honorees will also be recognized during the college's Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 25, at 7 p.m. in Dimnent Memorial Chapel.

Hope College is one of only 262 colleges and universities in the country, and one of eight in Michigan, to have a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. Hope's chapter was chartered in 1971.

Initiates of Phi Beta Kappa at Hope College

Jessica Leigh Abbott; Mobile, Ala. Carrie Robin Arnold; West Bloomfield Katherine Florence Bode-Lang; Grand Rapids Kari Jo Boss; Charlevoix Brian James Bredeway; Holland Marta Crandall Bultman; Fremont Anthony Arthur Cappa; Naperville, Ill. Meredith Ellen Care; Grand Rapids Diana Margarita Castanon; Holland Cheri Lynn Cecil; Haslett Camy Christine Clift; Bellevue Sarah Marie Dieter; Colorado Springs, Colo. Emilie Anne Dirkse; Holland Josiah Alexander Bradford Dykstra; Sioux City, Iowa Adam Taylor Eisenga; Hudsonville Ramona Maria Fruja; Arad, Romania Julie Ann Green; Interlochen Whitney Elaine Hadanek; Charlotte Karen Elizabeth Hahn; Midland Elizabeth Ann Helder; Holland Anne Houseworth; Alanson Wendy Jean Huizenga; Zeeland Adrienne Lee Hull; St. Joseph James Robert Hull; Grand Ledge Elizabeth Ruth Husa; Hudsonville Blair Monroe Johnson; St. Joseph Elizabeth Ann Kauffman; Lakeview Patrick Raymond Kinne; Syracuse, N.Y. Markeen Kostus; Midland Stacey Lyn Mellema; Muskegon Christopher Lee Meyer; Holland Linda Dawn Montano; Holland Matthew Alexander Nehs; Traverse City Katherine Sophia Paarlberg; Glen Rock, N.J. Adriaan Gregoor Passchier; Waddinxveen, the Netherlands Aranh Pen; Holland Briony Erin Peters; Menominee Ross David Poll; Hudsonville Kristin Leigh Pott; Holland Rachael Suzanne Pridgeon; Montgomery Dana Lynn Ranschaert; Holland Kristin Andrea Reinhard; Rochester, N.Y. Garth Bernard Rotman; Zeeland Stephanie Dawn Schaap; Holland Elizabeth Anne Schofield; Niles Matthew Aaron Scogin; Portage Larissa Anne Smith; Lake Zurich, Ill. Richard Dayton Smith; Athens, N.Y. Piper Rae Spratt; Kalamazoo Katie Rene Torgerson; Weidman Leanne Marie VanDuinen; New Era Todd James Van Kuiken; Holland Andrew Davidson Vanover; Ada Lora J. VanUffelen; Holland Rachel Anne Van Wieren; Grant Jennifer Ruth Walvoord; Holland Heather Marie Wicklund; North St. Paul, Minn. Jessica Lynn Zimbelman; Stanton