posted November 19, 2002

Nine Players All-MIAA in Football

Nine Hope players have been named to the coaches' All-MIAA football teams.

The Flying Dutchmen placed second in the MIAA standings this fall finishing the season with a three-game winning streak and overall 5-5 record.

Two senior players achieved All-MIAA first team recognition. Punter Vince Scheffler (left) of Chelsea, Mich. (Chelsea HS) was voted to the first team for the third time in his career while senior offensive tackle Bill Crane (right) of Cedar Springs, Mich. (Cedar Springs HS) is being honored for the second time.

Players named to the All-MIAA offensive second team include senior center Josh Rumpsa of Grand Rapids, Mich. (Forest Hills Central HS), senior receiver Joel Solomon of North Branch, Mich. (North Branch Wesleyan HS), and junior quarterback Phil Butler of Howard City, Mich. (Tri-County HS).

Second team All-MIAA defensive honorees include senior tackle Andy Keller of Hastings, Mich. (Hastings HS), senior linebacker Josh Baumbach of Wyoming, Mich. (Wyoming Park HS), junior linebacker Matt Beaver of Gladwin, Mich. (Gladwin HS), and senior back Matt Baumbach of Wyoming, Mich. (Wyoming Park HS).

Receiving coaches' honorable mention were junior Dan Bloemers of Caledonia, Mich. (Caledonia HS), senior Jamie Buikema of Hudsonville, Mich. (Hudosnville HS), senior Nick Conrad of Wyoming, Mich. (Wyoming Park HS), sophomore Jeff Eldersveld of Grand Rapids (East Grand Rapids HS), senior Ryan Kerstetter of Kentwood, Mich. (GR South Christian HS), senior Nick Kunnen of Muskegon, Mich. (Reeths Puffer HS), and junior Devon Quinn of Traverse City, Mich. (TC St. Francis HS), and sophomore Andy Snyder of Berrien Springs, Mich. (Berrien Springs HS).