posted April 2, 2003

Phi Beta Kappa Honorees

A total of 63 of Hope College graduating seniors and recent graduates have been elected to the Zeta of Michigan chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest scholastic honorary society.

For more than 200 years, election to Phi Beta Kappa has been a recognition of intellectual capacity well- employed, especially in acquiring an education in the liberal arts and sciences. The objectives of learning encouraged by Phi Beta Kappa include intellectual honesty and tolerance, range of intellectual interests and understanding, not merely knowledge.

Hope faculty who are members of Phi Beta Kappa have elected students in recognition of their high grade point average in liberal arts courses, their exceptional scholarly ability, and their independent and creative scholarly activities.

A formal initiation ceremony and reception will take place on Sunday, April 13, at 2 p.m. in the Maas Center auditorium. The honorees will also be recognized during the college's Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 24, at 7 p.m. in Dimnent Memorial Chapel.

Hope College is one of only 262 colleges and universities in the country, and one of eight in Michigan, to have a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. Hope's chapter was chartered in 1971.

Initiates of Phi Beta Kappa at Hope College; Spring, 2003

Matthew Brandon Ambrose, Midland Jonathan Warner Atwell, Muscatine, Iowa Arianna Lindberg Baker, Wheaton, Ill. Robert James Bartlett, Mount Vernon, Ind. Jane Elizabeth Bast, Grand Rapids Daniel Glenn Bouwens, Zeeland Sarah M. Bublitz, Chesaning Cynthia Clare Byrne, Midland Mary Alice Cichocky, Traverse City Karen Michelle Clark, Midland Kathryn Sue DeHaan, Grand Rapids Joseph Mark Deller, Dearborn Karissa Leanne DeYoung, Jenison Cody Harrison Fleming, Ames, Iowa Carol Lynn Friedrich,Laingsburg Meghan Lynn Geer, Lowell Ellie Elizabeth Gray, Hillsdale Kathi Jo Grotenhuis, Hamilton Lisa Nicole Hardy, Midland Anne Nicole Hilbrecht, Kalamazoo Erin Nichole Hughes, Rochester Hills Stephen Jay Hulst, Holland Andria Lynn Hundt, Haslett Andrew John Imdieke, Marquette Aaron Stuart Johnson, Grand Blanc Eric Emory Jones, Grand Rapids Charlene Erh-Jean Kan, Midland Lee Mathew Kiessel, Suttons Bay Michael Casey MacPherson, Brethren Leigha Emily McCallum, Evart Lilyana Simeonova Mihalkova, Pazardjik, Bulgaria Jody Ann Murray, Grant Jessica Leigh Oosting, Grand Rapids Alyson Marie Payne, Three Oaks Lindsay Dawn Pollard, Holland Rachel Helen Powers, Central Lake Sarah R. Proulx, Ionia Hannah Caroline Reddick, Rochester Hills Hope Elizabeth Roobol, Plainwell Melissa L. Roop, Traverse City Lindsey Marie Root, Novi Joshua Michael Ruch, Kentwood David Andrew Rye, Haslett Sarah Elizabeth Sanderson, Holland Amy Faye Sato, Grand Rapids Daniel Christopher Schroyer, Marysville Alexander Alexandrovich Sherstov, Qaraghandy, Kazakhstan Noel Adam Snyder, Flushing Lindsey Ann Spoolstra, Byron Center Rosanna Maia Sutton, Fountain Danielle Andrea Svrcek, Elizabethtown, Pa. Rachel Lynn Tableman, Lansing Emily Jane Tennant, Pinckney Meredith Kay Ter Haar, Zeeland Matthew James Teusink, Fremont Roberta Lynn Thomassen, Holland Derek Alan Torno, Allendale Elisabeth Marie Van Houwelingen, Traverse City Christina Joy Van Regenmorter, West Olive Stacy L. Wabeke, Jenison Alisa L. White, Sterling, Ill. Elizabeth Ann Wilson, Lansing Angela Marie Zemla, McBain