posted June 18, 2003

Employees Recognized for Service to College

 Hope College staff members were recognized for service during the college's 23rd annual service award celebration, held in conjunction with a luncheon at the college's Haworth Inn and Conference Center on Friday, June 13.

Four employees who retired during the past school year were: Karen Brandsen, advancement services; Ronald Hale, transportation; Joyce Nielsen, library; and Johanna Sankey, physical plant.

Honored for 35 years of service were Maria Tapia (computing and information technology) and Barry Werkman (business services).

Recognized for 25 years of service were: Sarah Anderson (bookstore), Betty Dolley (copy center), Maxine Greij (bookstore) and Martha Reyes (financial aid).

Employees honored for 20 years of service were: David DuBois (physical plant), Betty Groenewoud (physical plant), Jacqueline Heisler (academic support), Pauline Rozeboom (computing and information technology), Paula Shaughnessy (bookstore), Roger Veldhof (physical plant) and Edna Zeeff (physical plant).

Fifteen-year honorees were: Merrie Bannink (registrar's office), James Becksvoort (physical plant), Karen Bos (public relations), Gordon Hulst (physical plant), John Norden (college advancement), James Van Heest (college advancement), Mary VanKlompenberg (physical plant) and Rick Wissink (physical plant).

Honored for 10 years of service were: Jamie DeWitt (kinesiology), Janet Gibson (admissions), Sharon Grotenhuis (physical plant), Debbie Huerta (Upward Bound), Jeanne Lindell (counseling), Kathy Lundy (physical plant), William Marcus (transportation), Kathy Miller (public relations), Kathleen O'Connor (history), Lynne Powe (public relations), Lela Wilson (physical plant) and Loi Kham Xayasane (physical plant).

Marking five years of service were: Linnay Aalderink (physical plant), Jonathon Brockmeier (computing and information technology), Joshua Bruwer (admissions), Nancy Curnick (telephone operations), Patricia Dalman (DeWitt Tennis Center), Eva Dean Folkert (kinesiology), Kristen Gray (counseling), Michelle Heard (physical plant), Gregory Kern (admissions), Kristine Lievense (business services), Jeffery Pestun (computing and information technology), S. Scott Plaster (physical plant), Jil Ponstein (mathematics, physics and computer science), Karen Schakel (Van Raalte Institute), Shelly Van Loo (transportation) and Cynthia Vogelzang (student development).