posted March 27, 2004

All-MIAA Swim Teams Announced

Hope has placed 12 swimmers on the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) all-conference teams announced by the league's coaches. Both Hope teams captured league championships this season.

Three senior athletes achieved All-MIAA distinction a fourth consecutive year -- Audrey Arnold of Richmond, Ind. (Richmond HS), Ian Kobes of Holland, Mich. (Holland HS), and Michelle Smith of Olympia, Wash.

Joining Arnold and Smith on the All-MIAA women's team are sophomore Lisa Ekdom of Holland, Mich. (Holland Christian HS), sophomore Meagan O'Neil of Troy, Mich. (Troy HS), freshman Lisa Smith of Dearborn, Mich. (Dearborn HS), and junior Erika Steele of Portage, Mich. (Portage Northern HS). Ekdom, O'Neil and Steele are each being honored a second time.

Joining Kobes on the All-MIAA men's team are sophomore Kurt Blohm of Wilmington, Ohio (Wilmington HS), senior Ross Geurink of Hudsonville, Mich. (Hudsonville HS), senior Chris Hamstra of Zeeland, Mich. (Zeeland HS), junior Jeff Heydlauff of Chelsea, Mich. (Chelsea HS), and junior Matt Waterstone of Holland, Mich. (Holland HS).