posted April 5, 2005

Phi Beta Kappa Honorees Named

A total of 62 Hope College's graduating seniors and recent graduates have been elected to the Zeta of Michigan chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest scholastic honorary society.

For more than 200 years, election to Phi Beta Kappa has been a recognition of intellectual capacity well-employed, especially in acquiring an education in the liberal arts and sciences. The objectives of learning encouraged by Phi Beta Kappa include intellectual honesty and tolerance, range of intellectual interests and understanding, not merely knowledge.

Hope faculty who are members of Phi Beta Kappa have elected students in recognition of their high grade point average in liberal arts courses, their exceptional scholarly ability, and their independent and creative scholarly activities.

A formal initiation ceremony and reception will take place on Sunday, April 17, at 2 p.m. in the Maas Center auditorium. The honorees will also be recognized during the college's Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 28, at 7 p.m. in Dimnent Memorial Chapel.

Hope College is one of only 270 colleges and universities in the country, and one of eight in Michigan, to have a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. Hope's chapter was chartered in 1971.

2005 Hope College Phi Beta Kappa Honorees

Robert Frederick Bode; Poulsbo, Wash.
Kelly Suzanne Brown; Rochester, N.Y.
Lindsay Watterson Brown; Boise, Idaho
Rachel Elizabeth Canfield; Whitehall
Daniel Jamieson Carter; Troy
Robert Ross Coleman; Grand Rapids
Anna Jane Cook; Holland
Michael Henry Cortez; Cadillac
Jill Ellen Davis; Wyoming
Eric James DeBoer; Holland
John Ellis Drake; Rochester Hills
Jillian Marie English; Grandville
Kathryn Lynn Ewing; Dearborn
Lisa Marie Filler; Fort Wayne, Ind.
Dawn Michelle Flandermeyer; St. Charles, Mo.
Jennifer Ann Folkert; Zeeland
Elizabeth Anne Fredericks; Yucaipa, Calif.
Timothy John Fry; Grand Rapids
Jacquelyn Kay Funk; Muskegon
Sarah Elizabeth Gardner; New Castle, Pa.
Zachary Joseph Garrett; Spring Lake
Melissa Jo Gifford; Normal, Ill.
Travis Alexzander Goldwire; Grand Ledge
Henry George Gould; Zeeland
Carol Jeanne Guess; Fort Wayne, Ind.
Maegan Rae Hatfield; Weidman
Erica Danielle Heeg; Pekin, Ill.
Jonas L. Heirman; Marshall
Kathryn Renee Hoenecke; West Olive
Christopher Michael Johnson; White Lake
Stephanie Lynn Judd; Frankenmuth
Stephanie L. Kortering; Zeeland
Sergei N. Kotelnikov; Holland
Heidi Lynn Libner; Park Ridge, Ill.
Samuel Cote Lien; Midland
Christopher Michael Marlink; Holland
Christopher Evan McGarvey; E. Peoria, Ill.
Heather Marie Mentzer; Wichita, Kan.
Andrew Joshua Meyers; Churchville, N.Y.
Daniel Loren Miller; Colchester, Ill.
Joshua Jacob Morse; Cadillac
Phillip James Morse; Dearborn Heights
Brian Harold Mott; Zeeland
Daniel G. Opperwall; Grosse Pointe Park
Jill Susan Pinter; Belleville
Lydia Ann Riddell; Osny, France
Ashleigh Marie Sartor; Plymouth
Gretchen Kea Schmidt; Decatur, Ga.
Megan Leigh Scholten; Zeeland
Matthew Alan Schwieger; St. Clair
Melissa Sue Sexton; Kalamazoo
William Nicholas Sumner; Midland
Hannah Mary Thurston; Holland
Jordon Mark VandeBunte; Alto
Pamela Lynne Van Dort; Midland
Katherine Rachel VanOss; Zeeland
Peter John VanWylen; Holland
Michelle Anne Walker; Brighton
Matthew Jeff Waterstone; Holland
Andrew Thomas Wells; Midland
Joshua Marshall Wiersma; La Grange, Ill.
Sophie Lee Williams; Stansbury Park, Utah