posted October 9, 2005

Flying Dutchmen Are MIAA Men's Golf Champions

The Flying Dutchmen have won the MIAA championship in men's golf for the third consecutive year and for the sixth time in seven years.

Coach Bob Ebels' Dutchmen culminated what is becoming a come-from-behind trademark to win the league crown by 22 strokes over eight tournaments. Runnerup Tri-State owned a nine-stroke after six tournaments, but Hope rallied over the final two outings to claim the 12th league championship in school history.

The team set MIAA records at two tournaments and their seasonal average of 296 strokes per round is an alltime conference mark.

Five Hope players achieved All-MIAA honors based on seasonal stroke average. Achieving All-MIAA first team honors were sophomore Tommy Yamaoka of Zeeland, Mich. (Zeeland East HS), 72.3; sophomore Matt Lapham of Brighton, Mich. (Brighton HS), 74.1; and sophomore Ryan Sheets of Saline, Mich. (Saline HS), 75.0. Yamaoka and Lapham are being honored for the second consecutive year.

Receiving All-MIAA second team honors were junior captain Nate Golomb of Schoolcraft, Mich. (Schoolcraft HS), 76.5, and sophomore Steve Martindale of Midland, Mich. (H.H. Dow HS), 76.5.

Other squad members were junior Ryan Otto of St. Joseph, Mich. (Lake Michigan Catholic HS), freshman Dan Oumedian of Jenison, Mich. (Jenison HS), freshman Scott Peterson of Grand Rapids, Mich. (GR Christian HS), and freshman Rob VanDette of Rochester Hills, Mich. (Rochester Adams HS).