posted November 8, 2005

All-MIAA Volleyball Honors Announced

Hope's MIAA championship volleyball season has been honored by the league's coaches with the selection of three players to the all-conference first team and the naming of coach Becky Schmidt as the league's coach of the year.

The Flying Dutch posted a perfect 16-0 record in winning the conference championship in Schmidt's second season as head coach. The team posted a 27-8 record this season.  Schmidt's two-year record is 46-22.

Named All-MIAA first team honors are senior Julie VanderSlice of New Era, Mich. (Shelby HS), junior Stephanie Poll of Hamilton, Mich. (Hamilton HS), and junior Amber Hoezee of Jenison, Mich. (Jenison HS).

Receiving coaches' honorable mention was senior Lindsey Schaap of Holland, Mich. (Holland HS).