posted November 9, 2005

All-MIAA Men's Soccer Honors Announced

The MIAA champion Flying Dutchmen have placed on six players on the all-conference first team led by senior forward Geoff Meyer (Grand Rapids, Mich./ Forest Hills Northern HS), pictured right, who has been chosen the league's most valuable player. Meyer topped the MIAA in scoring with nine goals and 13 assists to lead the Flying Dutchmen to a 13-1 league mark and a berth in the NCAA championships.

He is joined on the all-conference first team by senior forward Karter Klingenberg (Holland, Mich./Holland Christian HS), senior midfielder Devin McNeil (Lansing, Mich./DeWitt HS), sophomore midfielder Dan Tresslar (Bloomington, Ind./Bloomington South HS), junior back Patrick McMahon (Grand Rapids/Forest Hills Central HS), and senior goalkeeper Kevin Butterfield (Zanesville, Ohio/Zanesville HS). McNeil achieved All-MIAA honors a third consecutive year while Meyer was honored a second time.

Senior midfielder Bryan Johnson (Portage, Mich./Portage Northern HS) received All-MIAA second team honors. Three players received coaches' honorable mention -- senior Phil Lepper (Midland, Mich./Dow HS), junior Craig Root (Holland, Mich./Holland HS), and junior Bain Rumohr (Mason, Mich./Mason HS).