posted April 5, 2006

Seniors Named to Phi Beta Kappa

Sixty-three of Hope College's graduating seniors and recent graduates have been elected to the Zeta of Michigan chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest scholastic honorary society.

For more than 200 years, election to Phi Beta Kappa has been a recognition of intellectual capacity well-employed, especially in acquiring an education in the liberal arts and sciences. The objectives of learning encouraged by Phi Beta Kappa include intellectual honesty and tolerance, range of intellectual interests and understanding, not merely knowledge.

Hope faculty who are members of Phi Beta Kappa have elected students in recognition of their high grade point average in liberal arts courses, their exceptional scholarly ability, and their independent and creative scholarly activities.

A formal initiation ceremony and reception will take place on Sunday, April 23, at 2 p.m. in the Maas Center auditorium. The honorees will also be recognized during the college's Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 27, at 7 p.m. in Dimnent Memorial Chapel.

Hope College is one of only 270 colleges and universities in the country, and one of eight in Michigan, to have a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. Hope's chapter was chartered in 1971.

Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

Brandon Wesley Alleman; Morrice
Emily Marie Arbut; Petoskey
Amy Marie Back; Brookville, Ind.
Rachel Ann Baird; McBain
Daniela Banu; Bucharest, Romania
Anne Victoria Bast; Grand Rapids
Jessica Morgan Bodtke; Grand Junction
James Calvin Boerkoel; Fennville
Derek Preston Brown; Lakeview
Kelly Michelle Charland; Naperville, Ill.
Courtney Ann Clum; Howell
Sandra Elizabeth Deitz; Grand Rapids
Nichole Patrice Ellis; Rochester, N.H.
Shawn Michael Evers; Cedar Lake, Ind.
Kelsey Marie Guisbert; Farmington
Steven Robert Haack; Arlington Heights, Ill.
Brian Robert Hammer; Elk Rapids
Aaron David Hawn; Midland
Anne Elyse Hayden; Holland
Katie Lynn Hinkle; Cadillac
Elizabeth Joy Huizenga; Zeeland
Audra Anne Jobin; Spring Lake
Audrey Clark Laarman; Holland
Corissa Lynn Lamphear; Grand Rapids
Erin Kathleen L'Hotta; Winfield, Ill.
Kathleen Elizabeth Ludewig; Ithaca, N.Y.
Catherine Anne Martyn; Wheaton, Ill.
Sarah Elizabeth Mason; Grand Haven
Bethany Ann Metters; Bloomfield Hills
Sarah Renee Mol; Wyoming
Emily Joanne Nelson; Mount Morris, Ill.
Amy Lynn O'Connell; Westfield, N.Y.
Joseph H. Pitcher; Gowen
Erin Lynn Poll; Holland
Julie Ann Pollock; Midland
Matthew Glen Pridgeon; Montgomery
Kurt Alan Pyle; Zeeland
Kathryn Ann Randa; Naperville, Ill.
Abigail Bassett Rockwood; Muskegon
Rebecca Anne Rooy; Shelby
Maureen Christina Rosner; Mattawan
Rebecca Elizabeth Schewe; Berkley
Jennica Ann Skoug; Portage
Kendra Lynn Stock; St. Charles, Ill.
Amy Krystyna Strzyzewski; Midlothian, Ill.
Andrew Ragen Taylor; Flushing
Ashley Nicole Ten Haken; Melbourne, Fla.
Amy Lynn TerHaar; Kentwood
Sandra Lee Brayman Timmer; Holland
Scott Anthony Travis; Unionville
Joseph David Turbessi; Nunica
Shea Nicole Tuttle; Aurora, Ill.
Darren Blair Van Beek; Orland Park, Ill.
Jeffrey Dale Vandlen; Kalamazoo
Abigail Janna VanKempen; Holland
Eric Martin Van Tassell; Spencer, Iowa
Anna DeEtte Van Wyck; Mears
Mary Jacqueline VerHeulen; Walker
Nicholas Attilio Vidoni; Lisle, Ill.
Lisa Eileen Walters; Channahon, Ill.
Ryan Thomas Weaver; Saline
Kyle Wayne Williams; Plainwell
Katherine Elisabeth Wright; Brookston, Ind.