posted April 17, 2006

Men's Basketball Team Announces 05-06 Honors

Honors for the 2005-06 men's basketball season and captains for the 2006-07 season have been announced by coach Glenn Van Wieren.

The Flying Dutchmen established a single season record for victories in posting a 28-3 record, including an 18-0 mark at the new DeVos Fieldhouse.  The team advanced to the Sweet Sixten of the NCAA Division III championships.

Sharing co-most valuable player honors were seniors Greg Immink of Hudsonville, Mich. (Hudsonville HS) and Andy Phillips of White Pigeon, Mich. (Sturgis HS).  Immink and Phillips were joined by senior teammate Eric Voisin of Suttons Bay (Suttons Bay HS) on the All-MIAA first team.  Immink was named an All-American (fifth team) by the publication DIII News.  Immink and Phillips joined an elite group of Hope players to score more than 1,000 points in their career.

Sophomore Dan Holt of Spring Lake, Mich. (Spring Lake HS) and freshman Jesse Reimink of Hudsonville, Mich. (Hudsonville HS) were voted the team's most improved players while senior Jeff Carlson of Holland, Mich. (Holland HS) was chosen as the most inspirational player to his teammates and the team's most valuable defender.

Elected tri-captains of the 2006-07 team were juniors Steve Cramer of Akron, Mich. (Unionville-Sebawing HS), Brett Jager of Kalamazoo, Mich. (Kalamazoo Christian HS), and Scott Richardson of Flint, Mich. (Carman Ainsworth HS).