posted November 13, 2006

Hope Football Players Honored by MIAA

MIAA football champion Hope has placed 11 players on the coaches' all-conference team.

Junior Matt Rugenstein of Grand Rapids, Mich. (Grand Rapids Christian HS) was voted the league's most valuable defensive player.

Hope placed seven players on the All-MIAA first teams and four on the second teams.

Named to the offensive first team were junior tailback David Booko of Three Rivers, Mich. (Three Rivers HS); junior tackle Jacob Droppers of Kalamazoo, Mich. (Portage Northern HS); sophomore tackle Erik Ladomersky of Grandville, Mich. (Grandville HS); and junior tight end Kevin VandenBosch of Grandville, Mich. (Calvin Christian HS).

Defensive first team honorees include Rugenstein and senior Zach Huizing of Grand Rapids, Mich. (Northview HS).  Both are being honored for a second consecutive year.

Junior Joey Goeb of Grand Rapids, Mich. (East Grand Rapids HS) was named to the league's first team return specialist.

Named to the All-MIAA second team were senior center Joe Hensel of North Branch, Mich. (North Branch HS); junior wide receiver Doug VanEerden of Grand Rapids, Mich. (Grand Rapids Christian HS); senior defensive nose guard Derek Cooper of Hudsonville, Mich. (Zeeland HS); and senior defensive end Matt Erb of Middleville, Mich. (Middleville HS).

Receiving coaches' honorable mention were senior Andy Serrano of Holland, Mich. (Holland HS), junior Colin Balas of Kalamazoo, Mich. (Portage Central HS), senior Kevin Roschek of Holland, Mich. (Holland HS), senior Josh Thorington of Traverse City, Mich. (Traverse City Central HS), junior Troy Blasius of Gaylord, Mich. (Saint Mary's Catholic HS), and junior Chris Bowen of Ithaca, Mich. (Ithaca HS).