posted April 2, 2007

Seniors Named to Phi Beta Kappa

Sixty-six of Hope College's graduating seniors and recent graduates have been elected to the Zeta of Michigan chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest scholastic honorary society.

For more than 200 years, election to Phi Beta Kappa has been a recognition of intellectual capacity well-employed, especially in acquiring an education in the liberal arts and sciences. The objectives of learning encouraged by Phi Beta Kappa include intellectual honesty and tolerance, range of intellectual interests and understanding, not merely knowledge.

Hope faculty who are members of Phi Beta Kappa have elected students in recognition of their high grade point average in liberal arts courses, their exceptional scholarly ability, and their independent and creative scholarly activities.

A formal initiation ceremony and reception will take place on Sunday, April 22, at 2 p.m. in the Maas Center auditorium. The honorees will also be recognized during the college's Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 26, at 7 p.m. in Dimnent Memorial Chapel.

Hope College is one of only 276 colleges and universities in the country, and one of eight in Michigan, to have a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. Hope's chapter was chartered in 1971.

Hope College Phi Beta Kappa Honorees

Alyssa Dee Alsum; Delanson, N.Y.
Sommer Lee Amundsen; Coon Rapids, Minn.
Sarah Louise Baumgartner; Zeeland
Lea Marie Blackney; Troy
Abigail Anne Bolkema; Flushing
Matthew William Boote; Deerfield, Ill.
Nicole Elaine Brace; Saline
Elizabeth Ann Brichacek; Carol Stream, Ill.
Nicole Lynn Brugger; Spring Lake
Elizabeth Carol Coen; Northville
Audrey Stegeman Converse; Lowell
Kathryn Marie Coulter; Homer Glen, Ill.
Matthew Paul Dannenberg; Zeeland
John Lawrence Davisson; New Castle, Ind.
Ashley Nicole Dean; Cadillac
Claire Louise DeHaan; Grand Rapids
Ashley Anne DeHudy; Muskegon
Luke Alan DeRoo; Holland
Nathaniel Jay DeYoung; Hudsonville
Margaret P. Fylstra; Hinsdale, Ill.
Morgan Suzanne Gorskey; West Chicago, Ill.
Breah Marie Groen; Galien
Sara M. Henry; Saline
Karl Walter Hoesch; Zeeland
Alicia Jane Hofelich; Midland
Julia C. Hollenberg; Elkhart, Ind.
Laura Jean Johnson; Grand Rapids
Abby Elizabeth Kosta; Grandville
Matthew Kryger; Holland
James Paul Lajiness; Beech Grove, Ind.
Rebecca Leeann Lathrop; Gladwin
Rachel Lynn Lauber; Collinsville, Ill.
Caitlin Michelle Leads; Farmington Hills
Molly Que Lien; Midland
Noah Adam Livingston; Hillsdale
Benjamin A. Manting; Spring Lake
Kathleen Selam Mehari; Grand Rapids
Jenelle Marie Mittelstaedt; West Bloomfield
Jeffrey Peter Mulder; Holland
Josephine Mutinda Muthengi; Nairobi, Kenya
Thea Elizabeth Neal; Minneapolis, Minn.
William Douglas Nettleton; Battle Creek
Aimee Marie Nichols; Hillsdale
Katharine June Nykamp; Grand Haven
Kristin Marie Olson; Ada
Thomas Darryl Owens; Western Springs, Ill.
Laurie Christine Parker; Shelby Township
Megan Kristine Patnott; Holland
Laura Baldwin Peterson; Bay Village, Ohio
William Edward Ponkowski III; West Bloomfield
Jamie Ranae Previch; Adrian
Aaron Dennis Raatjes; Mokena, Ill.
Tally Noelle Reeverts; Colchester, Ill.
Joanna Nicole Rodriguez; Plainfield, Ill.
Kristin Ashley Rose; Dowagiac
Jeffrey Alan Shriner; Fort Wayne, Ind.
Kyle Alexander Smith; Ada
Mackenzie Lee Smith; Twin Lake
Carol Beth Steiner; Rochester
Scott Ryan Teusink; Fremont
Emily Anne Timmons; Kalamazoo
Matthew Scott VanBeek; Hudsonville
Camaron Michael Voyles; Fremont
Lara Elisabet Wagner; Northville
Anna Elisabeth West; Birmingham
Bethany Anne Wichman; Eaton Rapids