posted March 3, 2008

All-MIAA Basketball Honors Announced

HOLLAND -- All-MIAA honors have been presented to seven members of
Hope's conference champion basketball teams.

Both Hope basketball teams finished atop their respective regular
season standings, won their conference tournament and are now headed
to the NCAA Division III championships.

Senior Marcus Vanderheide of Grandville (Calvin Christian HS) has been
voted the men's MVP while senior Julie Henderson of Grand Haven (Grand
Haven HS) was named the women's defensive player of the year for the
second year in-a-row.

Vanderheide is joined on the All-MIAA men's first team by senior Tyler
Wolfe of Cedar Springs (Cedar Springs HS).  Senior Derek VanSolkema of
Cutlerville (South Christian HS) received second team recognition.

Senior Jordyn Boles of Grand Rapids (Forest Hils Central HS) was voted
to the All-MIAA women's first team for the third consecutive year.
She was joined on the first team by sophomore Philana Greene of
Grandville (Grandville HS).  Senior Lindsay Lange of Manistee
(Manistee HS) received second team recognition.