posted March 20, 2008

Marcus Vanderheide Named Region's Outstanding Player

Hope College senior Marcus Vanderheide of Grandville (Calvin Christian HS) has been voted the the Great Lakes District Division III men's basketball player of the year.

All-Region teams are selected nationally by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC).  The honorees are eligible for consideration for the State Farm Division III All-America team selected by the NABC.

Hope senior Tyler Wolfe of Cedar Spring (Cedar Springs HS) was honored as a second team all-district honoree.

Vanderheide was voted the most valuable player of the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA).  Wolfe joined him on the All-MIAA first team.

Hope (27-3) captured the championship of the MIAA and have advanced to this weekend's final four championships in Salem, Va.

Vanderheide led the team in scoring (14.9 ppg) and rebounding (6.8 rpg) this season. Vanderheide has been the team's leading scorer in 12 games and had five double-doubles.  In the tournament he is averaging better than eight points above his scoring average.

Joining VanderHeide on the all-district first team are James Cooper, College of Wooster; Nate Stahl, Capital; Kevin Buczynski, PennState Behrend and Dustin Rydegeair, OhioWesleyan.


Second team honorees are Brody Jackson, Bethany; Grag Gonzalez, Carnegie Mellon; Tyler Wolfe, Hope; Caleb Veldhouse, Calvin; Drew Yancey, Albion.