posted April 4, 2008

Winter Sports Letterwinners Are Announced

The winners of athletic letters for Hope College winter sports teams have been announced by men's athletic director Ray Smith and women's athletic director Eva Folkert.

Hope teams captured three of the four Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) winter sports championships.  Hope was champion in men's and women's basketball and men's swimming/diving.  Women's swimming/diving finished in second place.

Hope is also in first place in the MIAA Commissioner's Cup standings after the winter season.  The Commissioner's Cup is presented to the MIAA member school with the best cumulative standings in the 18 sports sponsored by the MIAA.

Eleven athletes lettered in their sport for a fourth consecutive year.  They are Jordyn Boles (basketball), Wade Engers (swimming), Julie Henderson (basketball), Nicholas Hinkle (swimming), Jeffrey Holtman (swimming), Trisha Meier (swimming), Emily Mills (cheerleading), Kevin O'Brien (swimming), Gregory Reznich (swimming), Amanda Scheeringa (cheerleading), and Stacy Warsen (basketball).