posted January 5, 2009

Annual Recognition Luncheon Honors Faculty

Hope College honored faculty members for service, academic achievement and professional involvement during the college's annual recognition luncheon on Monday, Jan. 5.

The luncheon traditionally marks the beginning of the college's second semester. Participating were James Bultman, president; James Boelkins, provost; Alfredo Gonzales, associate provost and dean for international and multicultural education; Moses Lee, dean for the natural and applied sciences; Richard Ray, dean for the social sciences; and William Reynolds, dean for the arts and humanities.

Recognized for 40 years of service were: Herb Dershem (computer science), Jack Holmes (political science), Jon Huisken (registrar, and dean for academic services), Bruce McCombs (art) and Peter Schakel (English).

Honored for 30 years of service were: Ion Agheana (Spanish), John Cox (English), Sander deHaan (German), Alfredo Gonzales (associate provost and dean for international and multicultural education) and Robin Klay (economics). Recognized for 25 years of service were: Ed Hansen (geology), Lynne Hendrix (accountancy), Jim Herrick (communication) and Anne Larsen (French).

Honored for 20 years of service were: Jackie Bartley (English), Colleen Conway (Van Wylen Library), Judy Hillman (art), Steve Nelson (art), Debra Swanson (sociology) and Todd Swanson (mathematics).

Adjunct and part-time members of the faculty honored for 20 or more years of service were: Tom Davelaar, kinesiology (25 years); Larry Malfroid, music (35 years); Jon Osborn, sociology (35 years); Janet Pinkham, Academic Support Center/communication (20 years); Rob Pocock, political science/communication (20 years); and Richard K. Smith, English (25 years).

Ji Hoon Park (communication) was named a Towsley Research Scholar.  Jeff Brown (engineering) and Debra Swanson (social work) received Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Awards.  Andy Nakajima (Japanese) and Todd Swanson (mathematics) received this year's Janet L. Andersen Excellence in Teaching Awards. The Provost's Awards for Service to the Academic Program were presented to Nancy Cook (education) and John Yelding (education).

Faculty honored for serving on the college's Teaching Enhancement Workshop Committee were: Debra Swanson (sociology, and committee director); Christopher Barney (biology); Lorna Hernandez Jarvis (psychology); and Barbara Mezeske (English).

Jennifer Young (English) was recognized for having received the 2008 Hope Outstanding Professor Educator (H.O.P.E.) Award.

Acknowledged as authors and editors during the past year were: Claudine Andre (Spanish), Barry Bandstra (religion), Virginia Beard (political science), Albert Bell (history), Steven Bouma-Prediger (religion), Wayne Brouwer (religion), David Cunningham (CrossRoads Project), James Herrick (communication), Mark Husbands (religion), Deirdre Johnston (communication), Nella Kennedy (Van Raalte Institute), Moses Lee (dean for the natural and applied sciences), John Lunn (economics), David Myers (psychology), Jacob Nyenhuis (Van Raalte Institute), Graham Peaslee (chemistry, and geological and environmental sciences), Jack Ridl (English, emeritus), Peter Schakel (English), Heather Sellers (English), John Shaughnessy (psychology), Robert Swierenga (Van Raalte Institute), Elliot Tanis (mathematics, emeritus) and Scott VanderStoep (psychology).

Honored for accomplishment as performing artists were: Rosanne Barton-DeVries (dance) and Andrew Le (music). Members of the art faculty recognized for their work as artists were: Judy Hillman, Bruce McCombs, Steve Nelson and Katherine Sullivan. Members of the kinesiology faculty and staff honored for accomplishments as coaches were: Brian Morehouse (women's basketball), John Patnott (men's swimming), Becky Schmidt (volleyball) and Glenn Van Wieren (men's basketball).

Faculty honored for being named officers of professional associations were: Kirk Brumels (kinesiology), Leah Chase (biology and chemistry), Susan Dunn (nursing), Kim Hawtrey (economics), Michael Misovich (engineering), Graham Peaslee (chemistry, and geological and environmental sciences), Becky Schmidt (kinesiology), Darin Stephenson (mathematics), Debra Swanson (sociology) and Charlotte Witvliet (psychology).

Faculty recognized for receiving honors and awards were: Ernest Cole (English), Donald Cronkite (biology), Susan Dunn (nursing), Linda Dykstra (music), Jonathan Hagood (history), Kelly Jacobsma (Van Wylen Library), Fred Johnson (history), Pamela Koch (sociology), Anne Larsen (French), Moses Lee (dean for the natural and applied sciences), Nancy Miller (dean emerita for the social sciences), Graham Peaslee (chemistry, and geological and environmental sciences), Tim Pennings (mathematics), Brian Porter (management), Heather Sellers (English), Todd Steen (economics), Debra Swanson (sociology), Steve Talaga (music), Steve VanderVeen (management, and Center for Faithful Leadership), Vicki Voskuil (nursing) and Boyd Wilson (religion).  The department of chemistry was also recognized for having received recognition from the American Chemical Society and the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation.

Several faculty and departments and programs were recognized as recipients of grants and fellowships: Miguel Abrahantes (engineering), Chris Barney (biology), Nancy Barnum (nursing), Aaron Best (biology), Leah Chase (biology and chemistry), Annie Dandavati (political science), Matt DeJongh (computer science), Paul DeYoung (physics), Jane Finn (education), Eva Folkert (kinesiology), Greg Fraley (biology), Janis Gibbs (history), Peter Gonthier (physics), Fonda Green (Children's After School Achievement Program), Ed Hansen (geology), Jeff Johnson (chemistry), Brent Krueger (chemistry), John Krupczak (engineering), Moses Lee (dean for the natural and applied sciences), Catherine Mader (physics), Virginia McDonough (biology), Brian Mork (chemistry), Andy Nakajima (Japanese), Graham Peaslee (chemistry, and geological and environmental sciences), Stephen Remillard (physics), Carol Simon (philosophy, and general education), Christian Spielvogel (communication), Joanne Stewart (chemistry), Nathan Tintle (mathematics) and F. Sheldon Wettack (chemistry).  Programs recognized for grant awards were:  the Children's After School Achievement (CASA) Program, and the natural and applied sciences division and the departments of education, kinesiology and psychology.