posted March 3, 2009

Thirteen Swimmers Honored as All-MIAA

Thirteen Hope College swimmers have been named to the coaches' 2009 Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) all-conference team.

The honor team includes eight members of Hope's MIAA champion men's team and five members of the women's squad that placed second.

Senior Brittaney Reest Delo of Holland, Mich. (West Ottawa) is being honored for a fourth consecutive year.  She is the 19th Hope female swimmer to achieve this distinction.

Five swimmers are being honored for a third year -- senior Laura Ansilio of Western Springs, Ill. (Lyons Township, Ill.), junior Phil Heyboer of Zeeland, Mich. (Holland Christian HS), junior Ryan Nelis of Holland, Mich. (West Ottawa HS), junior Claire Piester of Columbia, Mo. (Hickman HS), and junior Matt Rose of Grandville, Mich. (Grandville HS).

Honored for a second time are junior Christina Vogelzang of Holland, Mich. (Holland Christian HS), senior Ryan Vogelzang of Holland (Holland Christian HS), and junior Mitch Ruch of Zeeland, Mich. (Zeeland West HS).

First-time honorees include freshman Jeff Shade of Davison, Mich. (Davison HS), freshman Matthew Gregory of St. Joseph, Mich. (St. Joseph HS), freshman Sarah Sohn of Arlington Heights, Ill. (Prospect HS) and junior Aaron Welsch of St. Peters, Mo. (Ft. Zumwalt South HS).