posted March 11, 2009

Women's Basketball Post-Season Honors

Post-season honors are being presented to the women's basketball program in recognition of an MIAA championship season and run in the NCAA Division III tournament.

° Coach Brian Morehouse has been named the regional coach of the year by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) for the third time in his 13-year career. Eight NCAA Division III coaches from across the country are being honored and are now eligible for national coach of the year recognition.  Morehouse was named the national coach of the year in 2006.  He has guided the Flying Dutch to a 315-57 record over his career, including 27-1 this season, with eight conference championships and nine trips to the NCAA tournament.  He entered the 2008-09 season ranked third among Division III coaches by winning percentage.

° Sophomore center Carrie Snikkers of Jenison, Mich. (Unity Christian HS) has been named to the WBCA all-region team and is now a finalist for the coaches' Division III All-America team.  There are 42 all-region players from the nation's 422 Division III women's basketball programs. Snikkers is one of five sophomore honorees. Snikkers was voted this season's player of the year in the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA). Other players honored from the Great Lakes region are junior Kortney Kin of Wilmington, senior Jessica McKenzie of Muskingum, Daniele Sanna of Capital, and Jayme Thiem of Thomas More.