posted March 30, 2009

Seniors Named to Phi Beta Kappa

Sixty-four of Hope College's graduating seniors and recent graduates have been elected to the Zeta of Michigan chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest scholastic honorary society.

For more than 200 years, election to Phi Beta Kappa has been a recognition of intellectual capacity well-employed, especially in acquiring an education in the liberal arts and sciences. The objectives of learning encouraged by Phi Beta Kappa include intellectual honesty and tolerance, range of intellectual interests and understanding, not merely knowledge.

Hope faculty who are members of Phi Beta Kappa have elected students in recognition of their high grade point average in liberal arts courses, their exceptional scholarly ability, and their independent and creative scholarly activities.

A formal initiation ceremony and reception will take place on Saturday, April 18, at 3 p.m. in the MaasCenter auditorium. The honorees will also be recognized during the college's Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 23, at 7 p.m. in Dimnent Memorial Chapel.

Hope College is one of only 276 colleges and universities in the country, and one of eight in Michigan, to have a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. Hope's chapter was chartered in 1971.

HopeCollege Phi Beta Kappa Honorees

Ayannah Chioma Abiade; Spring Hill, Tenn.
Matthew Steven Baker; Grand Rapids
Jonathan David Barrus; Midland
Catherine Leigh Bennett; Arlington, Texas
Michael James Brusko; Racine, Wis.
Kelli Lynn Carrier; Jenison
Beth Anne Cooper; Bardoina, N.Y.
Shannon Elizabeth Craig; Naperville, Ill.
Jon David Dean; Grand Haven
Sarah Lois Dean; Nashville, Tenn.
Jacob Gerald Dickinson; Saline
Kristin Elise Dittenhafer; Midland
Gray Arthur Emerson; Holland
Jennifer Katherine Fait; San Diego, Calif.
Erin Elaine Fortner; Greeneville, Tenn.
Stephanie Renee Fowler; Frisco, Colo.
Stephanie Lynn Giegler; Brighton
Allison Good Hawkins; Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.
Karla Elizabeth Helvie; Ann Arbor
Nova Grace Hinman; Portage
Brittney Lyn Jatzo; Iron River, Wis.
Danielle Kathleen Johnson; Kalamazoo
Kathryn Lynn Johnson; Wheaton, Ill.
Jessica Lynn Jones; Mequon, Wis.
Robert Franklin Kenagy; Stevensville
Joshua Mark Kinder; McHenry, Ill.
Ross William Knoll; Grand Haven
Nora Elizabeth Kuiper; Kalamazoo
Jeffery David Lampen; Zeeland
Jacquelyn Danielle Lewis; Rockford
Daniel James Lithio; Downers Grove, Ill.
Robin Elizabeth Litscher; Lebanon, Ind.
Lauren Shea Maat; Holland
Shanna Kristine Mack; Allegan
Jeffrey Louis Mastin; Liverpool, N.Y.
Erin Margaret McCarthy; St. Charles, Mo.
Brian Christopher McLellan; Fort Wayne, Ind.
Andrew Kirk Mead; Orange City, Iowa
Krista Ruth Mehari; Grand Rapids
Jonathan Philip Moerdyk; Paris
Joy Lynn Morin; Byron Center
April Christine Muske; Cadillac
Laura Jeanne Nettleton; Battle Creek
Rachel Ann Oosting; Alma
Mark Joseph Panaggio; Muskegon
Lani Marie Pickard; Minnetonka, Minn.
Anna Katherine Pillot; State College, Pa.
Rachel Lynn Rees; Fishers, Ind.
Caitlin Emily Rice; Spring Lake
Matthew Philip Rose; Holland
Emily Belle Scatterday; Geneva, Ill.
Laura Anne Shears; Normal, Ill.
Molly Rebecca Smith; Urbana, Ill.
Joseph Loren Stodola; Jenison
Kyle Whitaker Stufflebam; Centralia, Ill.
Melyn Renee Tank; Midland
Katie Joy Terpstra; Zeeland
Chelsea Elise Vandlen; Kalamazoo
William Paul Van Kempen; Holland
Laura Jane Van Tassell; Spencer, Iowa
Caryn Joy Vennema; Muskegon
Amy Lynn Weber; Hoffman Estates, Ill.
Sarah Helen Williams; Indianapolis, Ind.
Morgan Marie Willming; South Haven