posted May 26, 2009

Recent Graduates Receive NSF Fellowship Honors

Six Hope College graduating seniors or recent graduates have received either Graduate Research Fellowships or honorable mention through the program from the National Science Foundation.

"Given the size of Hope College, this is an exemplary accomplishment and it is a testimony to the value of pursuing productive research in undergraduate education," said Dr. Moses Lee, who is dean for the natural and applied sciences and a professor of chemistry at Hope.  "For the natural and applied sciences, this moves the division closer to the Vision 20/20 strategic goal of reaching a higher and uncharted level of academic excellence."

Named fellowship recipients this year were Kristin Dittenhafer of Midland, who graduated earlier this month; Rebecca Lathrop, a 2007 graduate from Gladwin; and Emily Timmons, a 2007 graduate from Kalamazoo.  Recognized with honorable mention were Jamin Dreyer, a 2006 graduate from Holland; Alicia Hofelich, a 2007 graduate from Midland; and Jonathan Moerdyk of Paris, who graduated earlier this month.

The NSF awarded 1,236 fellowships this year and presented another 1,836 students with honorable mention.

The awards are for students in the early stage of pursuing a research-based master's or doctoral degree.  Fields of study supported by the fellowships include chemistry, computer science, engineering, the geosciences, the life sciences, the mathematical sciences, physics and astronomy, psychology, and the social sciences.

The fellowships are for up to three years, and pay a $30,000 annual stipend, a $10,500 cost-of-education allowance and a $1,000 one-time international travel allowance.

° Kristin Dittenhafer, a chemistry major with a biochemistry emphasis, is pursuing graduate study at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

° Rebecca Lathrop, an engineering major with a mechanical engineering emphasis, is pursuing graduate study at The Ohio State University.

° Emily Timmons, a geology major, is pursuing graduate study at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

° Jamin Dreyer, a biology-education major, is pursuing graduate studies at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

° Alicia Hofelich, a psychology major, is pursuing graduate studies at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor.

° Jonathan Moerdyk, a chemistry major, is pursuing graduate studies at the University of Texas at Austin.