posted June 6, 2009

All-MIAA Track & Field Honors Announced

All-conference track & field honors have been awarded to eight Hope
athletes, including the MIAA's most valuable track female performer

Senior sprinter Nora Kuiper of Parchment, Mich. (Parchment HS),
the league's 100-meter and 200-meter champion, becomes the first Hope
female track athlete to receive the league MVP award since 1994. The
NCAA All-American was the MIAA 100-meter champion four consecutive

Kuiper is joined on the All-MIAA women's team by freshman Leonie
Grosse of Everswinkel, Germany; freshman Kate Nelson of Williamston,
Mich. (Williamston HS); and sophomore Kara VanderGuchte of Hamilton,
Mich. (Hamilton HS).

Hope athletes named to the All-MIAA men's team include junior Jeffrey
Minkus of Glen Ellyn, Ill. (Glenbard West HS); sophomore Nick Rinck of
Hudsonville, Mich. (Hudsonville HS); junior Aaron Treiber of Auburn,
Mich. (Saginaw Valley Lutheran HS); and freshman Kyle VanderVeen of
Alto, Mich. (Caledonia HS).