posted July 2, 2009

Twelve Hope Teams Receive MIAA GPA Award

A record 12 Hope College athletic teams, including all nine women's teams, have received the 2008-09 GPA Team Award from the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA).

The MIAA Team GPA Award is presented to conference teams that achieve a 3.300 or better grade point average for an entire academic year. This program is administered by the Faculty-Athletic Representatives (FARs) of the MIAA member colleges. The FARs at Hope College are Lynne Hendrix, professor of accountancy, and Dr. Mark Pearson, assistant professor of mathmetics.

Hope teams receiving the award and the coach of that team were: women's basketball (Brian Morehouse), men's and women's cross country (Mark Northuis), men's golf (Robert Ebels) and women's golf (Eva Dean Folkert), men's tennis (Steve Gorno) and women's tennis (Karen Page), women's soccer (Leigh Sears), softball (Karla Wolters), women's swimming & diving (John Patnott), women's track & field (Kevin Cole), and volleyball (Becky Schmidt).

The women's cross country team, coached by Dr. Mark Northuis, has the distinction of receiving the honor all 11 years since the award program was instituted in 1998-99.