posted September 6, 2009

Men's Golf Team Honored for Academics

The Hope College men's golf team has been named to the inaugural national All-Academic team honor roll of the Golf Coaches Association of America.

The honor, for the 2008-09 school year, recognizes collegiate men's teams who maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better for the entire year. Members of the Hope team maintained a 3.339 GPA in 2008-09.

Hope was one of just 20 NCAA Division III teams to receive the honor. Division III in 2009-10 consists of 410 colleges/universities.

The Flying Dutchmen, coached by Bob Ebels, also received the GPA Team award from the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA).

Members of the team and their 2008-09 academic year were:

Chris Ansel, sophomore from Zeeland (Zeeland East)
Nicholas Campbell, freshman from Saline (Saline)
Chris Harwood, freshman from Westfield, Ind. (Brebeuf Prep)
Joshua Jelenek, junior from Laingsburg (Laingsburg)
Donald Kring, senior from Williamsburg (St. Francis)
Caleb Nykamp, freshman from Holland (Holland Christian)
Dan Oumedian, senior from Jenison (Jenison)
Nicholas Rollick, freshman from Brighton (Brighton)
Donald Scholten, senior from Grand Rapids (Grand Rapids Christian)
Steven Strock, junior from Grandville (Grandville)
Andrew Thomson, freshman from Beaver Dam, Wisc. (Central Wisconsin Christian)
Joshua Wylie, freshman from Brighton (Brighton)