posted January 11, 2010

Annual Recognition Luncheon Honors Faculty

Hope College honored faculty members for service, academic achievement and professional involvement during the college's annual recognition luncheon on Monday, Jan. 11.

The luncheon traditionally marks the beginning of the college's second semester. Participating were James Bultman, president; James Boelkins, provost; Moses Lee, dean for the natural and applied sciences; Richard Ray, dean for the social sciences; and William Reynolds, dean for the arts and humanities.

Recognized for 35 years of service were: Jim Piers (sociology) and John Shaughnessy (psychology).  Honored for 30 years of service were: Christopher Barney (biology) and Nick Perovich (philosophy).  Recognized for 25 years of service were:  Paul DeYoung (physics), Jenny Everts (religion), Matt Neil (kinesiology) and Jim VanderMeer (kinesiology).  Honored for 20 years of service were Steven Iannacone (dance), Huw Lewis (music) and Steve Smith (kinesiology).

Named a "Towsley Research Scholar" was Jeff Johnson (chemistry).  The "Janet L. Andersen Excellence in Teaching Awards" were presented to Brian Coyle (music) and Mary DeYoung (mathematics).  The "Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Awards" were presented to Joanne Stewart (chemistry) and Scott Vander Stoep (psychology).  The "Technology Innovation Award" was presented to Thomas Ludwig (psychology).  The "Provost's Awards for Service to the Academic Program" were presented to Herbert Dershem (computer science), Ryan McFall (computer science) and Lannette Zylman-TenHave (provost's office).

Faculty honored for serving on the college's Teaching Enhancement Workshop Committee were: Debra Swanson (sociology, and committee director); Christopher Barney (biology); Lorna Hernandez Jarvis (psychology); and Barbara Mezeske (English).

John Krupczak (engineering) was recognized for having received the 2009 Hope Outstanding Professor Educator (H.O.P.E.) Award.

Acknowledged as authors and editors during the past year were: Wayne Brouwer (religion), Kirk Brumels (kinesiology), John Cox (English), Kim Douglas (English), Bob Eames (management), Lee Forester (German), Kim Hawtrey (economics), Teresa Housel (communication), Stacy Jackson (management), Rhoda Janzen (English), Anne Larsen (French), David Myers (psychology), Jacob Nyenhuis (Van Raalte Institute), Graham Peaslee (chemistry, and geological and environmental sciences), Jack Ridl (English, emeritus), Robert Swierenga (Van Raalte Institute), Steve VanderVeen (management) and Daniel Woolsey (Spanish).

Honored for accomplishment as performing artists were: Jean Bahle (theatre), Adam Clark (music), Brian Coyle (music), Andrew Le (music), Daina Robins (theatre), Steve Talaga (music), Matthew Thornton (dance) and Angie Yetzke (dance). Members of the art faculty recognized for their work as artists were: Tamara Fox, Bill Mayer, Bruce McCombs, Stephanie Milanowski, Steve Nelson and Juliane Shibata.  Members of the kinesiology faculty and staff honored for accomplishments as coaches were: Bob Ebels (men's golf), Brian Morehouse (women's basketball), the late Karen Page (women's tennis), John Patnott (men's swimming and diving), Becky Schmidt (volleyball) and Tiger Teusink (women's tennis).

Faculty honored for being named officers of professional associations were:  Michelle Bombe (theatre), James Bultman (president), Meg Frens (kinesiology) and Darin Stephenson (mathematics).

Faculty and other members of the campus community recognized for receiving honors and awards were: Albert Bell (history), Paula Booke (political science), Maria Burnatowska-Hledin (biology and chemistry), Paulette Chaponniere (nursing), Donald Cronkite (biology), Jim DeBoer (music), Herb Dershem (computer science), Rosanne DeVries (dance), Susan Dunn (nursing), Alfredo Gonzales (associate provost and dean for international and multicultural education), Vicki-Lynn Holmes (mathematics and education), Steve Hoogerwerf (religion), Jessica Hronchek (Van Wylen Library), Roselyn Lee (communication), David Myers (psychology), William Polik (chemistry), Rich Ray (dean for the social sciences), Brad Richmond (music), Jack Ridl (English, emeritus), John Shaughnessy (psychology), Sonja Trent-Brown (psychology), Steve VanderVeen (Center for Faithful Leadership; and economics, management and accounting) and Brian Yurk (mathematics).  In addition, the departments of chemistry and physics were also recognized for celebrating their 100th anniversaries; the Phelps Scholars Program, directed by Charles Green, was recognized for having been honored as an exemplary diversity program in higher education by the Association of American Colleges and Universities; and the college's chapter of Mortar Board, advised by Martie Bultman and Dianne Portfleet, was recognized for receiving multiple awards during the national organization's annual summer conference.

Several faculty were recognized as recipients of grants and fellowships: Priscilla Atkins (Van Wylen Library), Christopher Barney (biology), Aaron Best (biology), Jeff Brown (engineering), James Boelkins (provost), Kenneth Brown (chemistry), Kirk Brumels (kinesiology), Leah Chase (biology and chemistry), David Cunningham (CrossRoads Project), Matthew DeJongh (computer science), Andrew Dell'Olio (philosophy), Paul DeYoung (physics), Maureen Dunn (kinesiology), Sue Dunn (nursing), Stephanie Edwards (mathematics), Peter Gonthier (physics), Alfredo Gonzales (associate provost and dean for international and multicultural education), Jonathan Hagood (history), Kelly Jacobsma (director of libraries), Lynn Japinga (religion), Mike Jipping (computer science), Jeff Johnson (chemistry), Deirdre Johnston (communication), Julie Kipp (English), David Klooster (English), Brent Krueger (chemistry), John Krupczak (engineering), Moses Lee (dean for the natural and applied sciences), Jianhua Li (biology), Catherine Mader (physics), Leslie Muller (economics), Andy Nakajima (Japanese), Roger Nemeth (sociology), William Pannapacker (English), Graham Peaslee (chemistry, and geological and environmental sciences), Nick Perovich (philosophy), Jeanne Petit (history), Lyra Pitstick (religion), Steve Remillard (physics), Rich Ray (dean for the social sciences), William Reynolds (dean for the arts and humanities), Elizabeth Sanford (chemistry), Carol Simon (philosophy, and general education), Steve Smith (kinesiology), Christian Spielvogel (communication), Nathan Tintle (mathematics), Charlotte vanOyen Witvliet (psychology) and Jennifer Young (English).