posted March 7, 2010

Flying Dutch Headed to Illinois for WBB Sectional

The next round of the NCAA Division III women's basketball tournament for the Hope College Flying Dutch will be played at Illinois Wesleyan University in Bloomington, Ill.

Tickets are now available through Hope's DeVos Fieldhouse ticket office. The cost is $8 for adults and $5 for students and senior citizens. Children under two are free. All tickets are general admission. Hope fans will have a designated section in the gym.

Ironically, the four teams in the Sectional will be seeking to advance to the final four scheduled to be played at Illinois Wesleyan University a week later on March 19-20.

The teams in the Sectional have combined for a 108-9 record this season.

Hope (29-1) will play Marymount, Va. (28-1) in Friday's first game with a 5 p.m. CT tipoff, followed by host Illinois Wesleyan (28-1) against UW-Stevens Point (23-6). The Friday winners will meet at 7 p.m. CT on Saturday.

The Flying Dutch have advanced to the Sweet Sixteen for the third straight year after defeating DePauw, Ind. 68-54 in a second round game on Saturday. Hope is making its 12th appearance in the NCAA tournament and for the fifth year in-a-row.

The Saints of Marymount will be a first-ever opponent for the Flying Dutch. Located in Arlington,Marymount has an enrollment of 4,100 students. The Saints are making their 16th aoppearance in the NCAA tournament. Their only final four appearance was in 2002 when they finished fourth. Hope and Marymount shared Adrian of the MIAA as a common opponent this season. Hope defeated Adrian three times (77-53, 58-56, 66-54) enroute to winning the championship of the MIAA. Marymount defeated Adrian 66-58 in a holiday tournament in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. Hope is riding a 20-game winning streak while Marymount has won 13 in-a-row.

The Titans of Illinois Wesleyan are appearing in the NCAA tournament for a seventh time, but have never advanced to the final four. The Pointers of UW-Stevens Point are also in the post-season tournament for a seventh time and have hoisted the national championship trophy twice (1987 and 2002).