posted April 28, 2010

Seniors Honored for Athletic Accomplishments

HOLLAND - Seventy-one Hope College seniors have been awarded monogrammed blankets for their participation in athletics at Hope.

The orange and blue "H" blankets are presented to seniors who earned at least three varsity letters while at Hope.  One of the varsity letters must have been earned during the student's senior year.

The students were recognized during the college's Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 29, and will also be honored during an on-campus reception sponsored by the Alumni H-Club on Monday, May 3.

The recipients are:

Eric Anderson, Ann Arbor, cross country
Justin Bailey, Portage, soccer
Kevin Bartosek, Traverse City, soccer
Christopher Batterbee, Gladwin, football (captain)
Jacqueline Beeler, Plymouth, cross country
Teresa Borst, Zeeland, volleyball (captain)
Matthew Clark, Holland, track
Jenny Cowen, Dexter, basketball (captain)
David DeBoer, Grosse Pointe, football (captain)
Michael Dekker, Hamilton, baseball
Bryan DeKoekkoek, Martin, track (captain)
Alexander Deschaine, Frankenmuth, football
Deidra Enochs, Summerfield, Fla., softball (captain)
Taylor Fox, Canton, football
R. Alexander Fryer, Clearwater, Fla., baseball (captain)
Joanne Gabl, Saline, cross country
John Gardner, Granville, Ohio, tennis (captain)
Michael Garland, Kohler, Wisc., tennis (captain)
Haleigh Gokey, Mattawan, track (captain)
Philana Greene, Grandville, basketball (captain)
Christopher Harrison, Plymouth, Minn., soccer (captain)
Andrea Helminiak, Maumee, Ohio, volleyball (captain)
John Herbert, Culver, Ind., soccer (captain)
Philip Heyboer, Zeeland, swimming (captain)
Ryan Jara, CommerceTownship, track
Anders Johansen, Indianapolis, Ind., football (captain)
Kristen Johnson, Naperville, Ill., volleyball
Scott Jungling, Zeeland, basketball
Kirsten Kaufmann, Clio, soccer (captain)
Brandon King, Willowbrook, Ill., swimming
Collin Kooy, Metamora, track
Marissa Kooyers, Holland, tennis
Krista Liverance, Williamston, softball
Emma Lucas, Boon, track
Christopher Mauney, South Lyon, track
Jeffrey Minkus, Glen Ellyn, Ill., track (captain)
Jordan Moore, Grandville, football
Ryan Nelis, Zeeland, swimming (captain)
Elizabeth Olson, Ankeny, Ia., tennis (captain)
Kelsey Pierson, Indianapolis, Ind., swimming
Preston Pierson, Traverse City, track (captain)
Claire Piester, Columbia, Mo., swimming (captain)
Robert Poll, Grandville, baseball (captain)
Frank Previch, Onsted, track
Matthew Ray, Holland, swimming (captain)
Manuel Reynoso, Winfield, Ill., cheerleading
James Richardson, Mt. Vernon, Ohio, swimming
Jonathan Rodriguez, Berrien Springs, track
Mitchell Ruch, Zeeland, swimming
Bart Schrader, Centreville, cheerleading (captain)
Saab Schwiebert, Chelsea, soccer (captain)
Cassie Sneller, Holland, golf (captain)
Scott Snyder, Berrien Springs, baseball (captain)
Nicholas Stone, Dearborn Heights, swimming
Steven Strock, Grandville, golf (captain)
Ryan Summers, Naperville, Ill., cross country
Steven Tompkins, Glen Ellyn, Ill., baseball
Cody Tozer, Sturgis, swimming
Aaron Treiber, Auburn, track
John Turner, Kentwood, soccer (captain)
Sarah Vander Meer, Holland, track
Kevin Van Dokkumburg, Holland, football
Christina Vogelzang, Holland, swimming (captain)
Aaron Welsch, St. Peters, Mo., swimming
Danielle Werley, Holland, tennis
Matthew Wiersum, Minnetonka, Minn., track (captain)
Kate Williams, Wheaton, Ill., swimming
Whitney Willson, CommerceTownship, swimming
Lucas Wolthuis, Vicksburg, cross country
Beth Yahraus, Bryan, Ohio, softball (captain)
Peter Zessin, Holland, baseball