posted May 10, 2011

All-MIAA Track & Field Honors Announced

The success of Hope athletes at the MIAA track and field championships last week is evidenced in the coaches' all-conference teams announced today.

Three of the MIAA's four most valuable awards are being presented to Hope athletes. It's a sweep for the first time in school history in women's track and field with senior Kara Vande Guchte (Hamilton/Hamilton HS) honored as the outstanding female track performer and senior Heidi Grooters (Jenison/Jenison HS) named the outstanding female field performer. Nick Rinck

(Hudsonville/Hudsonville HS), Hope's first male four-year event

champion, was named the most valuable male track performer.

An All-American heptathlete, VandeGuchte competed in eight events at the MIAA championships winning the 100-meter high hurdles, scoring in five other individual events, and running the anchor leg on Hope's two champion relays. Grooters set the MIAA and Hope record in winning the hammer at the championships. Rinck became the first Hope male athlete to win an event at the MIAA championships for four consecutive years.

A total of 11 Hope athletes were named to the coaches' All-MIAA team. Joining Vande Guchte and Grooters on the All-MIAA women's team are junior Katrina Gobrogge (Napoleon Ohio/Archbold HS), junior Kate Nelson (Williamston/Williamston HS); junior Sarah Venlet

(Zeeland/Holland Christian HS); and freshman Catherine White (Barre, Vt./Spalding HS).

Rinck, a four-time All-MIAA honoree, was joined by senior John

Donkersloot (Zeeland/Zeeland East HS); freshman Jake Hurrell

(Cadillac/Cadillac HS); senior Cameron Lampkin (Troy/Berkley HS); and junior Andrew McKeachie (Milford/Milford HS).

Coached by Kevin Cole, the Flying Dutchmen were men's co-championship with Calvin while the Flying Dutch finished second in the women's standings.