posted March 12, 2012

All-Region Honors Presented Hope Basketball Players and Coach Matt Neil

Senior David Krombeen
Coach Matt Neil

An MIAA conference championship season highlighted by a 23-game winning streak by the Hope College Flying Dutchmen has caught the attention of Division III coaches in the Great Lakes region who have announced honors for senior David Krombeen and junior Nate Snuggerud and their coach Matt Neil.

Senior guard David Krombeen (Grandville/Grandville HS) was the top vote-getter in the poll of Great Lakes coaches belonging to the National Association of Basketball Coaches. He is joined on the All-District first team by Clayton Black of Wittenberg, Tim Brady of Ohio Wesleyan, Kevin Knab of Marietta, Corey Schontz of John Carroll and Nick Wilcox of Bethany.
Junior forward Nate Snuggerud (Zeeland/Zeeland East HS) is an all-district second team honoree. He is joined by British Alexander of Bethany, Justin Hallowell of Wooster, Spencer Niekamp of Capital and Jamaal Watkins of Hiram.
Hope coach Matt Neil has been named the Great Lakes District Coach of the Year. Neil in his first two seasons as coach has led the Flying Dutchmen to back-to-back conference championships and appearances in the NCAA Division III championships. This year's team posted a 27-2 record to improve Neil's two-year mark to 50-9.
A year-starter, Krombeen was named the MIAA's most valuable player this season. Hope during his career posted a 92-25 record, advancing to the NCAA championships all four years. Krombeen ended as Hope's second alltime leader in career assists (463) and steals (241). He averaged 14.8 point per game this season and ended with a career average of 10.0. He was co-captain of the team as both a junior and senior. This past season he was named the conference player of the week three times.
Snuggerud led the MIAA in scoring this season. For the season he averaged 17.8 points and 7.1 rebounds per game. His 61% field goal shooting average was among the best in Division III.