posted March 15, 2012

Winter Sports Letterwinners Are Announced; 14 Student-Athletes Lettered Four Years

The winners of athletic letters for Hope College winter sports teams have been announced by athletic directors Tim Schoonveld and Eva Dean Folkert.

Hope teams captured one of the four Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) winter sports championships.  Hope was champion in men’s basketball.  Women’s basketball, men’s and women’s swimming/diving finished in second place.

Hope is in first place in the MIAA Commissioner’s Cup standings after the winter season.  The Commissioner’s Cup is presented to the MIAA member school with the best cumulative standings in the 18 sports sponsored by the MIAA.

Fourteen athletes lettered in their sport for a fourth consecutive year.  They are Allie Cerone (basketball), Patrick Frayer (swimming), Lisa Heyboer (swimming), Michael Huisingh (swimming), Nathaniel King (basketball), Thomas Knecht (swimming), David Krombeen (basketball), Benjamin O’Dell (swimming), Aaron Rittenhouse (swimming), Andrew Rose (swimming), Jeffrey Shade (swimming), Sarah Sohn (swimming), Chelsea Wiese (swimming), Brian Yount (swimming).

Men's Basketball Letterwinners
Peter Bunn***, senior from Lansing (Lansing Christian)
William Campbell*, sophomore from Swartz Creek (Swartz Creek)
Chase DeMaagd**, junior from Woodland (Barry County Christian)
Josh Holwerda***, junior from Gallup, N.M. (Rehoboth Christian)
Nathaniel King****, senior from Sterling Heights (Henry Ford II)
David Krombeen****, senior from Grandville (Grandville)
Grant Neil*, sophomore from Holland (West Ottawa)
Logan Neil***, senior from Holland (West Ottawa)
Colton Overway**, junior from Holland (West Ottawa)
Chris Ray**, junior from Fort Wayne, Ind. (Homestead)
Billy Seiler**, junior from Chillicothe, Ill. (Illinois Valley Central)
Nate Snuggerud***, junior from Zeeland (Zeeland East)
Craig Toren*, sophomore from Lynwood, Ill. (Illiana Christian)
Nate VanArendonk*, sophomore from Grand Haven (Grand Haven)
Stephen Wittenbach*, freshman from Ada (Forest Hills Central)

Women's Basketball Letterwinners
Ashley Bauman***, junior from Manistee (Manistee Catholic Central)
Maddie Burnett**, senior from Grand Rapids (Northview)
Allie Cerone****, senior from Wheaton, Ill. (Wheaton North)
Hannah Doell*, freshman from Center Valley, Pa. (Southern Lehigh)
Liz Ellis***, junior from Grand Rapids (East Grand Rapids)
Anna Kaufmann*, sophomore from Davenport, Ia. (Davenport Central)
Megan Kelley*, sophomore from Rockford (Rockford)
Emily Klauka*, freshman from Holt (Holt)
Meredith Kussmaul***, junior from Hartland (Hartland)
Courtney Kust***, junior from Cincinnati, Ohio (Cincinnati Hills Christian Academy)
Melissa LaReau*, freshman from Bradley, Ill. (Bishop McNamara Catholic)
Rebekah Llorens*, freshman from Grayslake, Ill. (Grayslake Central)
Katie Overway**, sophomore from Holland (West Ottawa)
Kristen Slotman*, sophomore from Cedar Grove, Wisc. (Cedar Grove-Belgium)

Men's Swimming/Diving Letterwinners
Nick Boersma***, junior from Holland (West Ottawa)
Andrew Cutshall*, sophomore from Warsaw, Ind. (Warsaw)
Gregg Elhart***, junior from Zeeland (Zeeland East)
Patrick Frayer****, senior from Grand Rapids (East Grand Rapids)
Josh Grabijas***, junior from Howell (Howell)
Matthew Gregory***, senior from St. Joseph (St. Joseph)
Nick Hazekamp***, junior from Janesville, Wisc. (Joseph A. Craig)
Michael Huisingh****, senior from Holland (Holland)
Jacob Hunt**, sophomore from Muskegon (Mona Shores)
Thomas Knecht****, senior from Grand Rapids (Grand Rapids Christian)
Drew Krumm**, sophomore from Brighton (Brighton)
Andrew Larson**, sophomore from Jackson (Jackson)
Geoff Ludema***, junior from Ada (Grand Rapids Christian)
Grant Ludema*, freshman from Ada (Grand Rapids Christian)
Joesph Nielson***, junior from Mt. Vernon (Mt. Vernon)
Benjamin O’Dell****, senior from Oswego, Ill. (Oswego Community)
Alexander Perkins**, sophomore from Brighton (Howell)
Aaron Rittenhouse****, senior from Ft. Wayne, Ind. (Homestead)
Andrew Rose****, senior from Holland (Grandville)
Jeffrey Shade****, senior from Davison (Davison)
Erick Skaff*, freshman from Flint (Carmen-Ainsworth)
Trevor VanderHart*, senior from Caledonia (Caledonia)
Christopher Waechter*, freshman from Ventura, Ca. (Foothill Tech)
Brian Yount****, senior from Franklin, Ind. (Franklin Community)

Women's Swimming/Diving Letterwinners
Amanda Black***, junior from Lancaster, Ohio (Lancaster)
Luisa Burgess*, freshman from Pittsburg, Pa. (Taylor Allderice)
Rebecca Danforth***, senior from Elkhart, Ind. (Concord)
Erica Finlayson*, freshman from Rockford (Rockford)
Paige Garwood*, freshman from Dexter (Dexter)
Lauren Girard*, freshman from Rockford (Rockford)
Taryn Gras*, freshman from Zeeland (Zeeland)
Lisa Heyboer****, senior from Zeeland (Holland Christian)
Erin Holstad***, junior from Traverse City (Traverse City West)
Madalynn Kempkers*, freshman from Hamilton (Hamilton)
Maria Kieft**, sophomore from Spring Lake (Spring Lake)
Sarah Krueger***, junior from Wixom (Walled Lake Western)
Sloan Ouellette*, freshman from Rockford (Rockford)
Bethany Schmall**, sophomore from Portage (Portage Central)
Kyleigh Sheldon***, junior from Hastings (Hastings)
Sarah Sohn****, senior from Arlington Heights, Ill. (Prospect)
Emily Weber*, freshman from Milan (Milan)
Libby Westrate***, junior from Grandville (Grandville)
Chelsea Wiese****, senior from Rochester (Rochester Adams)

Basketball Cheerleader Letterwinners
Karly Annett**, sophomore from Bloomfield Hills (Lahser)
Allison Barnes*, freshman from Jenison (Hudsonville)
Taylor Berge*, sophomore from Johnsburg, Ill. (Johnsburg)
Anna Foos*, freshman from Clarkston (Clarkston)
Ashley Fox*, freshman from Kimball (Port Huron)
Lauren Gobelman*, freshman from Vernon Hills, Ill. (Vernon Hills)
Olivia Haines**, junior from Gowan (Greenville)
Laurel Mattice*, sophomore from Woodland (Lakewood)
John May*, freshman from Kentwood (East Kentwood)
Nicole Miller*, freshman from Spring Lake (Spring Lake)
Brandy Mullen*, freshman from Muskegon (Reeths Puffer)
Amber Prins*, freshman from Holland (Holland Christian)
B.J. Smith*, freshman from Twin Lake (Holton)
Alex Stradal*, sophomore from Muskegon (Mona Shores)
Chelsea Tessier*, freshman from Elkhart, Ind. (Elkhart Central)
Kevin Wonch**, sophomore from East Grand Rapids (East Grand Rapids)