posted March 31, 2012

Basketball Coach Matt Neil Receives National Award

Hope men's basketball coach Matt Neil has been named the Division III coach of the year. One of 10 finalists, Neil was presented the Glenn Robinson National Coach of the Year award on March 30 in New Orleans, site of the men's Division I final four, by the website The award is presented annually to the top division III men's basketball coach.

The award is named after the longtime Franklin & Marshall basketball coach Glenn Robinson who has has over 800 wins and is currently 12th on the all-time collegiate wins list. He has taken F&M to NCAA Division III tournament 22 times. Robinson guided the Diplomats to the Division III Final Four in 1979, 1991, 1996, 2000 and 2009. This season, he picked up his 23rd 21-plus win season.

Other nominees were Larry Anderson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Jeff Brown, Middlebury College; Ken DeWeese, University of Mary Hardin Baylor; David Hixon, Amherst College; Marcus Kahn, Cabrini College; Brian Lane, Transylvania University; Pat Miller, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater; Mitch Oliver, Albertus Magnus College; and Ken Scalmanini, Claremont Mudd Scripps.

Neil was also named the NCAA Division III Great Lakes District Coach of the Year by the National Association of Basketball Coaches and Neil in his first two seasons as coach has led the Flying Dutchmen to back-to-back conference championships and appearances in the NCAA Division III championships. This year's team posted a 27-2 record to improve Neil's two-year mark to 50-9.