posted April 16, 2012

Seniors Honored for Athletic Accomplishments

Sixty-eight Hope College seniors have been awarded monogrammed blankets for their participation in athletics at Hope.

The orange and blue “H” blankets are presented to seniors who earned at least three varsity letters while at Hope.  One of the varsity letters must have been earned during the student’s senior year.

The students were recognized on Monday, April 16 at the HOPEY's awards ceremony.

The recipients are:

Andrew Abe, Naperville, Ill., soccer
Emily Atsma, Caledonia, golf (captain)
Paul Austin, Grandville, soccer
Marcus Bradstreet, Grandville, football
Peter Bunn, Lansing, basketball (captain)
Kurtis Burmeister, Shelby, football
Christian Calyore, Naples, Fla., track and field (captain)
Nick Campbell, Saline, golf (captain)
Alexandra Cerone, Wheaton, Ill., basketball (captain)
W. Aaron Chew, Novi, track and field
Adam Clements, Saline, baseball
Rebecca Danforth, Elkhart, Ind. swimming
Daniel Detmar, Chesterton, Ind., baseball (captain)
Salome Emmanuel, Wheaton, Ill., cross country, track and field
Steven Esbin, Carmel, Ind., baseball
Stephanie Faber, Byron Center, softball (captain)
Benjamin Fineout, Zeeland, cross country
Patrick Frayer, Grand Rapids, swimming (captain)
Lana Gentry, Traverse City, soccer (captain)
Kyle Gibson, Alma, track and field
Katrina Gobrogge, Napoleon, Ohio, cross country, track and field
Grace Gonzalez, Park Ridge, Ill., soccer
Shaun Groetsema, Augusta, soccer (captain)
Elizabeth Hamer, Palatine, Ill., soccer (captain)
Brian Hernandez, Saline, cross country, track and field
Lisa Heyboer, Zeeland, swimming
Michael Huisingh, Holland, swimming
Nathan Jazwinski, Middleville, football
Daniel Karam, Grosse Pointe Woods, football
Jared Kimber, Bedford, Ohio, football
Nathaniel King, Sterling Heights, basketball (captain)
Jacqueline Kirsch, Harbor Beach, track and field (captain)
Thomas Knecht, Grand Rapids, swimming
Bruce Kraay, Zeeland, cross country, track and field
David Krombeen, Grandville, basketball (captain)
Nathan Love, Midland, cross country, track and field
Kelly Lufkin, Houghton, cross country (captain), track and field (captain)
Travis Martin, Hudsonville, football
Christopher Mattson, Muskegon, baseball (captain)
Andrea McCarty, Denver, Colo., golf
Andrew McKeachie, Milford, cross country (captain), track and field
Logan Neil, Holland, basketball (Captain), soccer (captain)
Kate Nelson, Williamston, cross country, track and field
Brooke Nienhuis, Zeeland, basketball, softball (captain)
Regina O'Brien, Saline, cross country, track and field
Benjamin O'Dell, Oswego, Ill., swimming
Danielle Petzak, Zeeland, soccer (captain)
Jonathan Ponte, Novi, baseball (captain)
Kristen Reschke, Naperville, Ill., track and field (captain)
Zach Riepma, Midland, football
Aaron Rittenhouse, Fort Wayne, Ind., swimming (captain)
Andrew Rose, Holland, swimming (captain)
Christopher Schmelz, Chelsea, football
Megan Scholten, Grand Rapids, golf (captain)
Jeffrey Shade, Davison, swimming (captain)
Karlyn Sikma, Grand Rapids, cross country (captain) track and field
Sarah Sohn, Arlington Heights, Ill., swimming (captain)
Emily Streelman, Jenison, track and field
Andrew Thomson, Beaver Dam, Wisc., golf (captain)
Zachary Van Noord, Hudsonville, baseball
J. Davis VanderVeen, Clarkston, tennis
Kyle VanderVeen, Alto, track and field
Zachary Vossen, Belmont, track and field (captain)
Kyle Warren, Grandville, football
David Whitaker, Vicksburg, soccer (captain)
Chelsea Wiese, Rochester, swimming (captain)
Brian Yount, Franklin, Ind., swimming (captain)
Lauren Zandstra, Flushing, golf