posted May 9, 2012

2012 All-MIAA Track & Field Honors Announced

All-conference honors have been presented to nine Hope College track and field athletes by the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) highlighted by the selection of senior Kyle VanderVeen of Alto (Caledonia HS) as the league's most valuable male runner.

Kyle VanderVeen, Christian Calyore, Catherine Calyore, Sharon Hecker

Nathan Love, Steffon Mayhue, Sheri McCormack, Joel Rietsema

Sarah Venlet

For the first time in school history, both Hope track and field teams were conference champions in the same year, the men's team winning the title outright and the women's team gaining a co-championship with rival Calvin.

A two-time All-MIAA honoree, VanderVeen was the conference champion in the 100 and 200 meter dashes and a member of Hope's winning 4x100 meter relay.

VanderVeen is joined on the All-MIAA team by senior Christian Calyore and sophomore Catherine Calyore of Naples Fla. (Barron Collier HS), junior Sharon Hecker of Grandville (Grandville HS), senior Nathan Love of Midland (Midland HS), sophomore Steffon Mayhue of Holland (Holland HS), sophomore Sheri McCormack of Holland (West Ottawa HS), junior Joel Rietsema of Rockford (Rockford HS), and junior Sarah Venlet of Zeeland (Holland Christian HS). Venlet is being honored for a third consecutive year. Hecker, Love and McCormack earlier received All-MIAA honors in cross country.