posted July 11, 2012

Basketball Players Honored for Academics

Six members of the 2011-12 MIAA champion Hope men's basketball team showed they could not only accomplish on the court, but in the classroom by being named to the Honors Court of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC).

Hope players honored (year in school is 2011-12) were junior Josh Holwerda of Gallup, N.M. (Rehoboth Christian HS), senior David Krombeen of Grandville (Grandville HS), senior Nate King of Sterling Heights (Henry Ford II HS), senior Logan Neil of Holland (West Ottawa  HS), junior Chris Ray of Fort Wayne, Ind. (Homestead HS), and junior Billy Seiler of Chilicotte, Ill. (Illinois Valley Central HS).

Krombeen, a psychology major, and Neil, an exercise science/psychology major, are being honored for the second time. King was a Spanish major and Seiler is an exercise science major. Ray and Holwerda are both management majors.

In order to be named to the Honors Court a student-athlete needed to maintain a cumulative 3.2 or higher grade point average. during the school year.