Adult/Child CPR and
First Aid Certification are required by the Michigan Department of
Education for all teacher education candidates at the time of their
recommendation to the State Department for a teaching certificate.
Hope College offers two certification sessions each academic year
for upper level education students. The certification completed on
campus is valid for two years.
What is required and why? Beginning on July 1, 2004, any individual
seeking initial teacher certification must successfully complete a course
in first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and hold valid certification
in these topics. No teacher preparation institutions will be able to
recommend any teacher candidate for certification without assuring that
this requirement for certification has been met. As a result, all candidates
for initial (Provisional) certification graduating after May, 2004 at
Hope College, will have to meet this requirement.
How can I get certified? In order to assist individuals to meet this
requirement, Hope College has arranged to provide the American Heart
Association Heartsaver First Aid & CPR course sessions once each
semester. The resulting certificates will be valid for a period of two
(2) years. Training opportunities are currently scheduled for the following
Saturday, November 7, 2015 (8:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.) Winants Auditorium (Graves Hall), registration deadline is Friday, October 30, 2015
Saturday, March 5, 2016 (8:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.) Winants Auditorium (Graves Hall),
registration deadline is Friday, February 26, 2016
Sessions will be limited to 120 participants. The fee will be charged to
account at Hope College. Registration may be completed below:
Saturday, November 7, 2015
8:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.
Winants Auditorium (Graves Hall)
Registration Deadline is: October 30 , 2015
Registration can be completed by clicking here
Aid and CPR - $56.00 *
First Aid ONLY - $35.00 (meets at 8:00a.m.)
CPR ONLY - $35.00 (meets at 12 noon)
The fee (which is non-refundable) will be charged to the student’s
account at Hope College.
The registration fee includes the cost of the instructor, materials,
*Lunch is provided for those taking BOTH First Aid and CPR.
What if I can’t attend one of these sessions? If
a student is unable to register for one of the above sessions, s/he will
need to find
the training elsewhere. Six agencies have been approved to provide this
training and certification:
American Red Cross (www.redcross.org)
American Heart Association (www.americanheart.org),
Medic First Aid (MFA) (http://www.medicfirstaid.us/index.php?page_id=26)
American Safety and Health Institute (ASHI) (http://www.ashinstitute.org/)
National Safety Council: Safety Council of Southeast Michigan & the
Lansing Area Safety Council (http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/CPRProvidersC_A_8.31.07_207216_7.doc)
Emergency Care and Safety Institute (http://www.ecsinstitute.org)
Training must result in certification in First Aid and CPR
(Adult AND Child)
What if I’m already certified? For individuals who are currently
certified in First Aid and CPR (Adult & Child), credentials
may be updated by taking recertification courses offered by these agencies.
What if I am physically unable to obtain this certificate? For an individual
with physical limitations that “make it impracticable for the person
to complete the instruction and obtain the required certification,” the
State has provided provisions to excuse such individuals from this requirement.
These requests will need to be approved by the Director of Certification
at Hope College.
How do I let the College know I’ve been certified? Each
individual applying for the initial (Provisional) teaching certificate
after July 1, 2004, must submit his/her ORIGINAL course
completion cards (which will be copied at the Education Department office)
at the time of application for initial
teacher certification. These cards must be VALID at the time
of processing the recommendation for certification to the Michigan Department of Education.
NOTE: Students who complete CPR and First Aid certification
through Hope College need not submit their cards to the Education office.
Copies will be made before the cards are issued directly to the student.
What if I still have questions? Questions may be directed
to the Cher Schairer, Director of Certification, in the Education Department
at Hope College (ph: 616-395-7903 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org).