K-12 Programs



HHMI logo

Research Scholars Program

Hope has long emphasized the faculty-undergraduate student research partnership as a focal point in the teaching-learning process. There are annual opportunities for students to do full time summer (10 weeks) research. During their summer research experience, faculty and students collaborate to promote the teaching-learning process. Some students continue on through the academic year working with their faculty mentor(s), gaining ever more insight into the multiple facets of research and the HHMI program.

Faculty research mentors in each department will select their department's research scholar from the summer research program participants. Typical program participants are STEM majors (including STEM education majors). Selection of student researchers is based upon academic record, research potential, professional aspirations, initiative, and independence. Faculty research mentors and department chairs can learn more about the specific requirements of the program here.


Clara Schriemer, Department of Biology. Supervisor: Dr. Virginia McDonough-Stukey

Cameron Holder, Department of Chemistry. Supervisor: Dr. Mary Elizabeth Anderson

Kalli Crandell, Department of Computer Science. Supervisor: Dr, Michael Jipping

John Boss, Department of Engineering. Supervisor: Dr. Katherine Polasek

Ryan Vander Meulen, Departments of Geological and Earth Sciences and Mathematics. Supervisor: Drs. Edward Hansen and Brian Yurk

Michael Henricksen, Department of Mathematics. Supervisor: Dr. Vicki Lynne Holmes

Christina Sarosiek, Department of Physics. Supervisor: Dr. Paul DeYoung

Fallon Richie, Department of Psychology. Supervisor: Drs. Patricia Roehling and Charlotte Witvliet



Ariel Vincent (Department of Mathematics) – . (Supervisor: Dr. Brian Yurk)

Mike Bischak (Department of Physics) – . (Supervisor: Dr. Steve Remillard)

Eric Traynor (Department of Physics) – . (Supervisor: Dr. Paul DeYoung)

Caitlin Kozack (Department of Chemistry) – . (Supervisor: Dr. Elizabeth Sanford)

Lauren Janness (Department of Engineering) – . (Supervisor: Dr. Matthew Smith)

Minchul Kim (Department of Psychology) – . (Supervisor: Dr. Gwenda Schmidt-Snoek)

Taylor Brushwyler (Department of Computer Science) – . (Supervisor: Michael Jipping)

Nathan VanArendonk (Department of Geologicial & Environmental Sciences) – . (Supervisor: Dr. Ed Hansen)

©2015 Hope College Howard Hughes Medical Institute Program | 35 E. 12th St. | Holland, MI 49423
hhmi@hope.edu | phone: 616.395.7265 | fax: 616.395.7118