hope college > academic departments > natural & applied sciences    

Administrative Staff <
Departments & Special Programs <
Faculty Nuggets, Alumni, Students & Friends <
Faculty/Staff Resources <
Grants & Fundings Opportunities <
Mission/Vision <
News & Special Events <
Prospective Students <
Quick Facts <
Research Opportunities <
Scholarship of Teaching & Learning <
Newsletter <
Who to Go to...  

Student Accomplishments


  • January 2007

Hope undergraduates students and Hope engineering professor Michael Misovich recently co-authored an article appearing in the January 2007 issue of Chemical Engineering Progress (CEP). Andy DeDoes (Hope student from 2003-2006) and Matt Goetz (’06) worked with Misovich on the article, entitled “A Simple Approach to Vapor Pressure Prediciton”. CEP is billed as a publication “by chemical engineering professionals for chemical engineering professional” and their standards are such that they rarely publish undergraduate work. CEP is a flagship publication of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, an organization with 40,000 members in 93 countries, which fosters advancement in the field of chemical engineering.

  • May 2007

Alyssa Johnson, Caitlin Rice, and Charles Sierzant were recognized with "Honorable Mention" in the 11th annual American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Undergraduation Research Achievement Award Poster Competition held in Washington, D.C. (Press Release)

Eight Hope College students have received Dean's Science Division Research Awards; Jon Barrus, Tim Bonman, Amanda Brisbin, Emilie Dykstra, Justin Mark Lunderberg, Chelsea Schrotenboer, David Visser, and Timothy Wahmhoff. These awards provide stipends for summer research, and there has been a recipient named for each department within the division. (Press Release)

  • April 2007

Departmental Prizes and Awards

Biology -- The Biology Book Award, freshman Sarah H. VanArendonk of Grand Haven; De Kruif Writing Prizes, junior Katherine L. Janczak of Schaumburg, Ill., and senior Kara R. Radabaugh of Byron Center; the Wolterink Prize in Biology, sophomore Caitlin E. Rice of Spring Lake; Biology Service Awards, seniors David J. Gonthier of Holland and Molly Q. Lien of Midland; the Patterson Memorial Prize in Biology, senior Matthew S. VanBeek of Hudsonville.

Biochemistry -- The Undergraduate Award for Achievement in Biochemistry, junior Keith W. Mulder of Portage.

Chemistry -- First-Year Chemistry Book Awards, freshmen Carrie E. Powers of Greer, Camille M. Riddering of Belmont, and Sarah H. VanArendonk of Grand Haven; the Junior Chemistry Journal Award, Abby L. Goltz of Midland; Organic Chemistry Book Awards to the Outstanding Students in Organic Chemistry, sophomores Jacquelyn D. Lewis of Rockford and Kristin E. Dittenhafer of Midland; American Institute of Chemists Awards, seniors Elisabeth J. Oosterhouse of Byron Center and Charles G. Sierzant of Grand Rapids; Hope Chemistry Senior Awards for Research, John L. Davisson of New Castle, Ind., Alyssa E. Johnson of Muskegon, and Brian D. Lajiness and James P. Lajiness, both of Beech Grove, Ind.; the Almon T. Godfrey Prize in Chemistry, senior Matthew J. Kryger of Holland.

Computer Science Department -- The Russell J. Kraay Awards in Computer Science, juniors James E. Daly of Chelsea and Kevin S. Formsma of Zeeland; the Boundy Computer Science Award, senior Stephen M. Foust-Christensen of Lexington, Ky.; Computer Science Senior Prizes, Sara M. Henry of Saline and Megan K. Patnott of Holland; the Computer Science Department Leadership Award, senior John A. Gould of Beverly, Mass.

Engineering -- The Freshman Engineering Prize, Maarten L. Galantowicz of Columbus, Ohio; the Senior Engineering Prize, Rebecca L. Lathrop of Gladwin; the VanPutten Engineering Design Prize, senior Devin A. Bonnie of Pinckney.

Geological and Environmental Sciences -- Ancient Mystic Order of the Trilobite Award, freshman Peter J. Van Heest of Holland; the Faculty Book Award, junior Amanda M. Brisbin of Grant; the Michael Visscher Memorial Book Award, sophomore Jesse R. Reimink of Hudsonville; the Reinking Memorial Scholarship, sophomore Sarah L. Dean of Nashville, Tenn.; the Tulip City Gem and Mineral Club Award, senior Carrie J. Thomason of Boyne City.

Mathematics -- John H. Kleinheksel Mathematics Awards, sophomores Timothy S. Boman of Rochester Hills, Nora E. Kuiper of Kalamazoo, Jacquelyn D. Lewis of Rockford, Jacob P. Lyons of Lake Orion, and Mark J. Panaggio of Lima, Peru; the Albert E. Lampen Mathematics Prize, senior Megan K. Patnott of Holland.

Nursing -- The Pre-Nursing Award, freshman Marlee J. Bogema of Grandville; the Sophomore Nursing Award, Susan M. Kioko of Albany, N.Y.; the Junior Nursing Award, Holly N. Bekius of Spring Lake; the Christian Service Award, senior Amanda G. Huck of Fowlerville; the Senior Nursing Award, Rachel L. Lauber of Collinsville, Ill.; the Miriam Joyce Van Eyl Award, senior Claire L. DeHaan of Grand Rapids; Sigma Theta Tau nursing recognition, seniors Ashley E. Bainbridge of Schoolcraft, Danielle J. Breuker of Holland, Claire L. DeHaan of Grand Rapids, Sheila A. Den Ouden of Paramount, Calif., Gloria A. DeWaard of Holland, Megan E. Holtrop of Grand Rapids, Lisa K. Jewell of St. Joseph, Denay M. Kippley of Holland, Ellison J. Klaasen of Holland, Rachel L. Lauber of Collinsville, Ill., Alison G. Mejeur of St. Joseph, Lindsey E. Miller of Holt, Gloria J. Rak of Geneva, Ill., Allison M. Trotter of Haslett, and Teressa M. Withers of Hudsonville; the Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Nursing Student Performance, senior Ashley E. Bainbridge of Schoolcraft.

Physics -- The Dr. Harry and Jeannette Frissel Research Scholarship, sophomore Deborah H. Denby of Westmont, Ill.; the Douwe B. Yntema Prize, senior Sarah A. Story of Glendale Heights, Ill.

  • September 2007

Abby Goltz and Lauren Kucera received an Honorable Mention Chapter Award from ACS-SA.