hope college > academic departments > natural & applied sciences    

Administrative Staff <
Departments & Special Programs <
Faculty Nuggets, Alumni, Students & Friends <
Faculty/Staff Resources <
Grants & Fundings Opportunities <
Mission/Vision <
News & Special Events <
Prospective Students <
Quick Facts <
Research Opportunities <
Scholarship of Teaching & Learning <
Newsletter <
Who to Go to...  

Student Accomplishments


National/State Awards

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship
Mark Lunderberg, Blair Williams
Honorable Mention: Joel Blok, Paul Frybarger

Michigan Space Grant Consortium Summer Fellowships

NAS Divisional Student Awards

Beckman Scholarship
John Donkersloot

Cancer Federation Award
Camille Riddering

Dean’s Summer Research Award
Courtney Long, Valerie Winton, Jeff Larget, Terra Fox, Peter VanHeest, Jessalyn Bolkema, Eric Lunderbetrg

Howard Hughes Medical Institute Research Scholarships
Kimberly Boyd, Xisen Hou, Steven Lewis, Abigail Phillips, Robert Sjoholm, Ingrid Slette, Blair Williams

Howard Hughes Medical Institute Science Education Scholarships
Andrea Eddy, Catherine Ellis, Kelsey Ensz, Brittany Gervais, Tara Hamming, Ji-Min Jeon, Kayla Lankheet, Kelsey Reimink, Joshua Andrews

Phi Beta Kappa
Sarah Dean, Kristin Dittenhafer, Kathryn Johnson, Joshua kinder, Jacquelyn Lewis, Daniel Lithio, Jonathan Moerdyk, Mark Panaggia, Caitlin Rice, Joseph Stodola

Departmental Student Awards

Biology Book Award: Anne Georges, Robert Sjoholm
Biology Service Award: Jessica Howe, Jacquelyn Rondolet
DeKruif Writing Prize: Margaret Mohr, Robert Sjoholm
Patterson Memorial Prize: Ryan Davis, Caitlin Rice
Wolterink Prize in Biology: Paul Reybarger, Jeanne Oxendine

First-Year Chemistry Book Award: Jonathan Lutz
Junior Chemistry Journal Award: Andrew Franks
Organic Chemistry Book Award: Breanna Powell, Susan Stevenson
American Institute of Chemists Award: Andrew Franks, Jacquelyn Lewis
Hope Chemistry Senior Award for Research: Kristin Dittenhafer, Christopher Jordan, Amy Speelman, Joseph Stohola, Benjamin Strong
Almon T. Godfrey Prize in Chemistry: Jonathon Moerdyk

Computer Science
The Russell J. Kraay Award: Andrew Foster, Ronald Largent, Timothy Wahmhoff
The Boundy Computer Science Award: Travis Love
Computer Science Senior Prize: Dirk VanBruggen


Freshman Engineering Award: Leah Patenge
Senior Engineering Award: Mark Pannaggio
The Van Putten Engineering Design Prize: Gregory Pavlok

Geology & Environmental Science
Ancient Mystic Order of the Trilobite Award: Gabriel Rubio
Michael Visscher Memorial Book Award: Megan Haserodt
Faculty Book Award: Sarah Vander Meer
Tulip City Gem and Mineral Club Award: Jesse Reimink, Sarah Dean
Reinking Memorial Scholarship: Peter Van Heest

Albert E. Lampen Mathematics Prize: Daniel Lithio
John H. Kleinheksel Math Award: Kelsey Bos, Elena Caruthers, Eric Lunderberg, Colin Rathbun


Pre-Nursing Award: Heather Mills
Sophomore Nursing: Award Anna Mulder
Junior Nursing Award: Erin Van Oordt
Christian Service Award: Anna Pentuik
Senior Nursing Award: Susan Kioko
Miriam Joyce Van Eyl Award: Rachel Rees

Freshman Physics Award: Eric Lunderberg
Douwe B. Yntema Prize: Christopher Hall