hope college communication    
hope college > academic departments > philosophy        

Faculty & Staff <
Inquiring Minds <
Speaker Series <
Major & Minor Requirements <
Fun and Interesting Links <
Graduates <
Course Descriptions <

Philosophy After Hope

Kendra Short ’11 is enrolled in the M.Div. program at Gordon Conwell Seminary.

Mike Bertrand ’10 is enrolled in the Ph.D. program in philosophy at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill with full funding.

Jon Andreas VanDenend ’10 is pursuing a master’s degree in Islamic Studies at the University of Colorado.

Gray Emerson ’09 is a librarian at Herrick District Library in Holland.

Robin Litscher ’09 received a Fulbright to teach in Germany for a year and earned an M.A. in Philosophy from no deposit bonus slots Fordham University.

Nicholas Engel ’08 is pursuing a Ph.D. in philosophy at Columbia University with full funding.

Robert Kenagy ‘08 completed his M.F.A in creative writing at Virginia Tech where he has received the Poetry Prize. He is now an Instructor of English at Hope.

Lea Blackney ’07 received a master’s degree in cello performance from the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee. She is a professional musician.

Meghan Courtney ‘07 received her Law degree at Michigan State University.

Megan Florian’07 received a master’s degree in Theological Studies at Duke Divinity School. She is a writing tutor at Duke and Communications Coordinator at the Resource Center for Women & Ministry in the South.

Laura Johnson ’07 completed her M.A. in Higher Education Administration at the University of Michigan and is currently a Resident Director at the University of Colorado, Boulder.

James Morse ’06 is a professional photographer in Chicago where he is pursuing an M.F.A. in photography at Columbia College.

Zachary Garrett ’05 graduated law school at the University of Michigan.

Zachary Barricklow ’05 completed two years in the Peace Corps in Panama. He is now a management consultant in North Carolina.

Michael Douma ’04 received his Ph.D in history from Florida State University.

Nora Staal ’03 received an M.A. in African Studies from Yale University and a post-graduate certificate in Arabic from Georgetown. She currently works for the U.S. State Department.

Tim Anderson ’02 is a science teacher at Shore Country Day School in Somerville, Massachusetts

Diana Castanon ’02 received her M.D. degree from the University of Michigan Medical School in 2006. She is currently a resident at Grand Rapids Medical Education and Research Center.

Cathleen Jaworowski ‘01 received a M.Div. from Princeton Seminary and is a hospital chaplain in Yuma, Arizona.

Joseph Gavin ’01 graduated MSU Law School in ’05 and received the prestigious Burton Award for Legal Achievement.

Aaron Keck ’01 received his Ph.D in Political Thought at Rutgers University. He is currently the News Director at WCHL radio in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

Ryan Atwell ’00 received his Ph.D. in Agricultural Studies at Iowa State University.

Eric Goodman ’00 completed his law degree at the University of Michigan and is a practicing attorney with Jones Day in Cleveland.

Jack Mulder ’00 completed his Ph.D. at Purdue University in philosophy and works here at Hope College as an Associate Professor.

Jon Rumohr ’00 completed his M.D. degree from the University of Michigan and is currently a resident in urology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center.

Michael Cross ’99 received an M.A. in philosophy from University of California, Riverside in 2004. He received his law degree from Harvard in 2008 and is presently an Associate at Skadden Arps in San Francisco.