Hope College Physics Department
Research Experiences for Undergraduates
Summer 2011
Project Summary


Project Title: Preparing for FRIB
Student Name: Nicholas Wozniak
Student's Home Institution: Hope College
Research Advisor: Dr. Paul DeYoung and Dr. Graham Peaslee
Source of Support:

This material is based upon work supported by the James N. Boelkins Natural and Applied Sciences Division Research Award and the Hope College Department of Chemistry.

The Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB) will be a new national user facility, funded by the Department of Energy Office of Science (DOE-SC) Office of Nuclear Physics and operated by Michigan State University (MSU). The new facility will have the capability to accelerate uranium to 200 MeV/nucleon and lighter ions with even more energy. FRIB will generate a host of new isotopes that could be harvested for off-line use. A feasibility study to harvest useful long-lived radioisotopes from FRIB is being conducted. The study will use current conditions at the National Superconducting Cyclotron Lab (NSCL) to quantify and characterize the production and extraction yields of six important radioisotopes. The relatively long-lived isotopes are 22Na, 67Cu, 48V, 85Kr, 44Ti, and 32Si. The radioisotopes of interest will be collected in an aqueous beam stop. Modeling of the nuclear reactions present at the NSCL was done using the LISE++ program. The information from the modeled reactions is being used to create an efficient procedure for isolating and extracting the radioisotopes of interest from the aqueous beam dump at FRIB. The isolation and extraction procedure is first being developed using commercial chelation disks for “cold,” non-radioactive, species. The procedure will then be applied to “hot,” radioactive, species, before being implemented at the NSCL and, eventually FRIB.
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Publications and Presentations:
“Analysis of Electrodeposited Nickel-Iron Alloy Film Composition Using Particle-Induced X-ray Emission”, Alyssa A. Frey*, Nicholas R. Wozniak*, Timothy B. Nagi*, Matthew P. Keller*, J. Mark Lunderberg*, Graham F. Peaslee, Paul A. DeYoung, and Jennifer R. Hampton. Int. J. Electrochem, IJELC/604395, (2011).
“ Particle-Induced X-ray Emission Analysis of Electrodeposited Alloy Film Composition.” Jennifer Hampton, Alyssa Frey*, Nicholas Wozniak*, Timothy Nagi*, Matthew Keller*, J. Lunderberg, Graham Peaslee, and Paul DeYoung. Submitted to J. Electrochem. Soc. (2010).
“Characterization of Electrodeposited Thin Films Created for Giant Magnetoresistance", Nicholas R. Wozniak and Jennifer R. Hampton. Contributed poster, Regional Chemistry REU Symposium, Hope College, Holland MI, (July 30, 2010).