physics    
hope college  >  academic departments  >  physics  

 
Faculty & Staff <
Program Information <
Facilities <
Student Research Opportunities <
Current Student Information <
Prospective Students <
News & Events <
Ask A Physicist <
Alumni Information <
 

Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Paul DeYoung
Kenneth G. Herrick Professor of Physics

Office: 230 VanderWerf Hall
Phone: (616) 395-7517
email: deyoung@hope.edu
Research Interest: Nuclear structure of rare isotopes (e.g. 19C or 25O). Application of nuclear techniques to interdisiplanary problems.

Peter Gonthier
Professor of Physics

Office: 217B VanderWerf Hall
Phone: (616) 395-7142
email: gonthier@hope.edu
Research Interest: Astrophysics - radio and gamma-ray emission from pulsars, relativistic Compton scattering in strong magnetic fields.

Jennifer Hampton
Associate Professor of Physics and Department Chairperson

Office: 217A VanderWerf Hall
Phone: (616) 395-7256
email: hampton@hope.edu
Research Interest: Electrochemistry, nanoscale science, scanning probe microscopy.

Catherine Mader
Professor of Physics

Office: 232 VanderWerf Hall
Phone: (616) 395-7114
email: mader@hope.edu
Research Interest: Heavy ion reaction theory involving modeling of highly excited nuclei. Physics curriculum development.

Graham Peaslee
Elmer E. Hartgerink Professor of Chemistry and Environmental Science

Office: 2106A Schaap Science Center
Phone: (616) 395-7117
email: peaslee@hope.edu

Stephen Remillard
Associate Professor of Physics

Office: 205 VanderWerf Hall
Phone: (616) 395-7507
email: remillard@hope.edu
Research Interest: Microwave superconductivity; phontonic bandgap structures; microwave discharges in gases.

Joshua Veazey
Assistant Professor of Physics

Office:205 VanderWerf Hall
Phone: (616) 395-7507
email: veazey@hope.edu
Research Interest:

Part-Time Faculty

 

Jordan Siemon

Office:
Phone:(616)395-7530
email: siemon@hope.edu

Staff

Andrew Bunnell

Office: 130A Vanderwerf Hall
Phone: (616)395-7518
email: bunnell@hope.edu

Dave Daugherty

Office: Accelerator Lab B11 VanderWerf Hall
Phone: (616) 395-7519
email: daugherty@hope.edu

Stephanie Doolittle

Office: Physics Office, 204 Vanderwerf Hall
Phone: (616)395-7530
email: doolittle@hope.edu

 

Kevin Gardner

Office: VanderWerf Hall
email: gardner@hope.edu

Cathy Stoel

Office: Physics Office, 204 Vanderwerf Hall
Phone: (616)395-7530
email: stoel@hope.edu